Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

Basic Rule

According to Chicago Style Manual (16th ed.), "Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies. The facts of publication are often omitted, but the edition (if not the first) must be specified. References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item (not the volume or page number) preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, "under the word"; pl. s.v.v.)"

How to cite GENERAL DICTIONARIES

Notes only..

1. Encyclopedaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "salvation."

2. Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed., s.v. "hoot(e)nanny, hootananny."

How to cite SUBJECT DICTIONARIES

Print:
Strickland, Edward. "Glass, Philip." In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2d ed, edited by Stanley Sadie. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.

Online:
Strickland, Edward. "Glass, Philip." In Grove Music Online, edited by Laura Macy. Oxford Music Online. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/11262 (accessed December 8, 2008).

 

How to cite SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Print Encyclopedia article with author:
Hansen, Mogens Herman.  "Athenian Democracy."  In The Oxford Classical Dictionary.  3rd ed. Oxford, U.K: Oxford University Press, 1996.

Article from an online Encyclopedia in a database with doi number or permanent URL:
"Academy Awards." 
In Encyclopedia of African American Society.  Los Angeles: Sage Publications, 2007.  Accessed March 5, 2015doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412952507.n3.

Article from an online Encyclopedia:
Melissa Isaacson
, "Bulls," in  Encyclopedia of Chicago , edited by Janice L. Reiff, Ann Durkin Keating, and James R. GrossmanChicago Historical Society2005http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/pages/184.html.