Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

How to cite GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAs

Major reference books (major dictionaries and encyclopedias, i.e. World Book) can be cited with a note in text rather than in a reference.

1. Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "salvation."

How to cite SUBJECT-SPECIFIC ENCYCLOPEDIAs

ASA Subject Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. Year of publication.  "Title of Entry or Article." Pp. numbers in Title of Reference Source. edition,  Vol. number, edited by Editor (editors use initials and not inverted). City of publication: Publisher.

 Examples:
Novak, Sarah A. 2008.  "Personal Relationships and Obesity." Pp. 557-58 in Encyclopedia of Obesity. Vol 2, edited by K. Keller. Los Angeles: Sage Publications.

Barr, Robert D., and William H. Parrett. 2003. "Alternative Schooling." Pp. 615-16 in Encyclopedia of Education. 2nd ed., Vol. 1, edited by J. W. Guthrie. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.

Lyas, Colin.1996. "Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von." Pp. 112 in Dictionary of Art. Vol. 12, edited by J. Turner. New York: Grove's Dictionary.

How to cite eENCYCLOPEDIAs

ASA Online Encyclopedia Entry

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Year of publication. "Title of entry or article." Pp. in Name of reference source, edited by Editor (initials used for first and middle name, not inverted).  Place of publication: publisher. Retrieved date (complete URL from authoritative website or doi number).

Example:

Novak, Sarah A. 2008.  "Personal Relationships and Obesity." Pp. 557-58 in Encyclopedia of Obesity. Vol 2, edited by K. Keller. Los Angeles: Sage Publications. Retrieved September 5, 2015 (http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/978141296382.n372)

Everett, Deborah. 2008. "Yazzie, Steven." Pp. 247-49 in Encyclopedia of Native American Artists, edited by D. Everett and E. Zorn. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Retrieved January 27,  2016 (http://libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX3008500081&v=2.1&u=dixiesta&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=2c23bfbd6a5045d2db8d77469cec7ac2)