Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Citation Guide: Citing sources

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact the reference staff via phone at 435-652-2081.

Reference Desk Hours:

M-Th 7:30 am to 10 pm
Fri 7:30 am to 5 pm

Definitions

Citation: the basic, pertinent information needed to find the full text of a publication. Citation formats vary according to the field of study and/or requirements of particular publications.

Citation Style: dictates the information necessary for a citation and how the information is ordered, as well as punctuation and other formatting. Styles include MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian.

Bibliography: a list of citations that appears at the end of a paper, article, chapter, or book. The bibliography is called a Works Cited list in MLA. The bibliography is referred to as a list of References in APA format.

Annotated Bibliography: each citation is followed by a brief note—or annotation—that describes and/or evaluates the source and the information found in it.

Citation Styles

MLA: is based on the Modern Language Association’s MLA Manual & Guide to Scholarly Publishing (LB 2369 .G53 2003 Reference Desk). MLA Style is commonly used in the Arts and Humanities, which is why it is frequently taught in English classes.

APA: is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (BF 76.7 .P83 2001 Reference Desk). APA Style is commonly used in the Social and Applied Sciences, Psychology, and Education.

Chicago: is derived from the The Chicago Manual of Style, published by the University of Chicago. Chicago Style is often used in history research as well as many other disciplines.

Turabian:  Kate Turabian is the author of A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, the Chicago Style guide commonly used by students. It is based on the Chicago Style.

What you will need..

When you are collecting references for your research paper remember to record what is needed for you citation. Some databases will provide the citation for you when you email the article. However, you should remember to at least jot down the basic information so you can find it again in case something gets lost.

Books or Chapters:

  • Author: full name(s) of the author(s) or editor(s).
  • Title: Full Title of the book and/or chapter of the book.
  • Publication: City, State, Year (latest copyright date), and name of the Publisher.
  • Edition: if there is one listed.
  • Pages: if noted, referenced in the paper, or chapter of a book.

 

(in addition if an e-book)

  • Website or Database: name of website or databased the book or chapter was retrieved.
  • Date: you accessed the information.
  • URL: <http://__ >

 

Periodical or Magazine Articles:  

  • Author: full name(s) of the author(s).
  • Title: Full Title of the Article.
  • Title: Full Title of the Magazine or Journal.
  • Publication: Day Month, Year (Magazine). Volume, Issue, and year (Journal)
  • Pages: if noted, referenced in the paper, or chapter of a book.

 

(in addition if accessed from a database or website)

  • Website or Database: name of website or databased the article was retrieved.
  • Access: where you accessed the database.
  • Date: you accessed the information.
  • URL: <http:__ >

 

Newspapers:

  • Author: full name(s) of the author(s).
  • Title: Full Article Title
  • Title: Full title of the newspaper.
  • Publication: Day, Month, Year.
  • Edition: if there is one listed.
  • Pages or section: if noted, referenced in the paper, or chapter of a book.

 

(in addition if accessed from a database or website) 

  • Website or Database: name of website or databased the article was retrieved.
  • Access: where you accessed the database.
  • Date: you accessed the information.
  • URL: <http://__ >

 

Encyclopedias:

  • Author: full name(s) of the author(s) if available.
  • Title: Full Title of Entry.
  • Title: Full Title of the Encyclopedia or Dictionary.
  • Publication: Year (latest copyright date)
  • Edition: if there is one listed.

 

(in addition if an e-book or database)

  • Website or Database: name of website or databased the entry was retrieved.
  • Access: where you accessed the database.
  • Date: you accessed the information
  • URL: <http://__ >

Websites:

  • Author: full name(s) of the author(s) if available.
  • Title: Full Title of the content.
  • Name of Web page.
  • Name of Organizational sponsor (not advertising sponsor).
  • Date published or updated.
  • Date: Day, Month, Year you accessed.
  • URL (complete) <http:// __ >

Reference

Reference Librarians
Contact:
David Zielke 652-7716

Dianne Aldrich 652-7720

Linda Jones 879-4243

Caleb Ames 879-4321

John Burns 879-4712

Kathleen Broeder 652-7718