Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

How to cite SUBJECT Encyclopedias

MLA Subject Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

 Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Title of Reference Source. Ed. First name Middle Initial. Last name. edition. Vol. number. City of publication: Publisher, year. Print.

 Examples:
Novak, Sarah A. "Personal Relationships and Obesity." Encyclopedia of Obesity. Ed. Kathleen Keller. Vol. 2. Los Angeles: Sage Publications, 2008. Print.

Barr, Robert D., and William H. Parrett. "Alternative Schooling." Encyclopedia of Education. Ed. James W. Guthrie. 2nd ed. Vol. 1. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2003. Print.

Lyas, Colin. "Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von." Dictionary of Art. Ed. Jane Turner. Vol. 12. New York: Grove's Dictionary, 1996. Print.

How to cite GENERAL Encyclopedias

  MLA General Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

  Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Title of Reference Source. edition. year. Print.

Examples:
"Home." Oxford English Dictionary. 2nd ed. 1989. Print.

Ring, Arnold A. "Real Estate." Encyclopedia Americana. 1997. Print.

"The Art of Architecture." Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia. 15th ed. 2002. Print.

How to cite ONLINE Encyclopedias from a database

MLA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

 Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Name of Reference Source. Ed. First Name Middle Name or Initial Last Name. edition. Volume number. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Name of database. Web. Date of access.

Example:
Bigus, Jochen. "Business Bankruptcy." Encyclopedia of Law & Society:American and Global Perspectives. Ed. David S. Clark. Thousand Oaks: Sage, 2007. Sage eReference. Web. 16 Apr. 2009.

How to cite ONLINE Encyclopedia from a website

MLA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Name or Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Name of Reference Source. Edition. Sponsor or publisher, Year of publication. Publication medium. Date of Access.

Example:
“Concrete." Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia. EBSCO, 2009. Web. 17 Jan. 2004.