Articles are found by searching library Databases. Understanding these databases will allow you to more easily use any databases.
To access the DSC library databases, you need to first go to the library home page, your gateway for academic research. Do you remember how to do this? From the Library Home Page (http://library.dixie.edu/), select Article Databases
The library databases allow searching multiple periodicals at one time and often include the full-text of articles. Even though the library’s article databases are accessible through the Internet, they are not freely available. These are licensed databases meaning that each library pays for a specific number of users based on its population group (number of students for an academic library or number of residents for a public library).
To access the DSC databases from the library home page, select Article Databases
There are three choices in how to access the databases: General / Multi-Subject, Subject List, and Alphabetic List.
The General / Multi-Subject list is recommended for all students to begin their research. Even if you decide to expand your searching to include more specialized databases later, you will still need to have searched these very large databases first.
The Subject List divides the specialized databases by the discipline most likely to use them. If after you’ve searched the General / Multi-Subject databases and still want to look for more information on a business topic, for example, you might look in the databases that focus specifically on business.
There’s also an Alphabetical Listof all the DSC databases. This is especially useful when an instructor or librarian says, "You should probably look in the Professional Development Collection for information on that." But you have no idea what or where the Professional Development Collection is! The alphabetical list has all the resources in one place.
On each list of database
A Keyword Search looks for the terms anywhere in the records
Articles will be indexed three different ways. They will have no full text and only result in an abstract or they will be full-text and be uploaded by either HTML format or PDF format. PDF format is the better option if you have a choice.
Articles that are indexed in a database but are not full-text can often be easily found in another database. Likewise, you may find an excellent article cited in the bibliography of another article or a book. These simple steps can help you locate the full-text of an article. You can either use the Link Resolver or the Full-Text Periodical List.
If there is no full-text article then you will see the words Check for Full Text on the result list. This is the Link Resolver. It will search other databases for the full-text article. If the other databases that we own doesn't have the article it will indicate no results. If another database does have the article then you will be linked to that article via the other database.
Full-Text Periodical List
Go to Library Home Page > Article Databases > Full-Text Periodicals List to see if any other databases has that periodical full-text. This program will search to see which database has the rights to which periodical. Then you can search the periodical in that database.
If you don't find the full-text article either using the Link Resolver or the Full-Text Periodical List then you can order it from another library via ILLiad.
ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan)
If the article cannot be located full-text and the library doesn’t have the periodical in print, don’t give up hope. A few more clicks will get you the article. ILLiad can be found on the Home page of the library, Books and More or the Article Database page.
Books and Articles both can be shared between libraries via Interlibrary Loan, they can be requested through ILLiad. Under Article Databases, select Interlibrary Loan. After logging in (remember to register if this is your first visit to ILLiad), select Order an Article. The citation data like author, title of article, title of publication, pages numbers, and volume and issue numbers will be requested. Most articles will be delivered to you in electronic format and can easily be downloaded, saved, or printed.