Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

FAQ for Library Services: Checking out a Book

This guide will help students with questions they might have concerning the library and its services

How many books can I check out?

Depends on the type of card you have.

Students of Dixie State University: 25 items

Faculty and Staff of Dixie State College: 50 items

Community Borrowers: 5 items

For others see the Circulation Rules/Procedures below.

How long may I check out a book or audio visual material?

Everything is checked out for 3 weeks except Reserve items.

How do I renew my books online

Go to books.dixie.edu then in the upper right corner is a login. Use your ID number and birthdate (YYYYMMDD) then to go "my accounts" in the middle of the page.

How do I pay a fine for an overdue item?

If you pay in cash or check you can come to the library directly.

If you need to use a credit card then you can go to the cashier's office. The cashier's office is now located on the first floor of the Holland Centennial Commons Building.

Circulation Rules/Procedures

Circulation Rules & Procedures

Dixie State University Library (DSUL) circulates materials to all Dixie State University students as part of their student fees. Faculty and staff may be issued non-expiring cards for the term of their hire. Circulation periods are set by library staff with input from the faculty library committee and are based on borrower type. Rules regarding circulation are posted at the circulation desk as are those that govern overdue fines or charges for vandalism or theft. These rules are also available in our Dixie State University Rules and Procedures Manual.

Instructors may put library items or their own materials on Reserve. These items may be used in the library for a limited amount of time, unless designated overnight by the instructor. Rules regarding Reserve are also available in the DSUL Manual.

Members of the community may use the library resources provided they do not infringe upon the rights of students to obtain information.

Certain materials such as periodicals, microforms, Reference, Special Collections or any item from the Archives do not circulate. Special permission must be given by the library director to use these materials outside of the library; and in the case of Special Collections and Archives, in-house use is subject to guidelines in the DSUL manual.

All circulation records of the DSUL are quasi-public only, and information contained therein shall not be given to any member of the public other than the borrower to whom the information pertains, except pursuant to such process, order, or subpoena as may be authorized by law. Upon receipt of such process, order, or subpoena, the document served upon the library shall be reviewed by the university’s legal counsel and approval given before the information is released.

  1. GENERAL POLICIES
    1. DSUL does not offer business, corporate, or organizational privileges.
    2. Borrowers are responsible for all items charged on their accounts as well as reporting any change in name, address, email, or phone number.
    3. Lost or stolen cards should be reported to the Circulation Desk.
    4. Certain items, including those in Reference, Special Collections, and periodicals, do not circulate.
    5. Patrons with a DSU ID card (faculty/staff/student) may use the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
      1. If a library charges a transaction fee, that charge is passed on to the patron.
      2. Loan periods are dependent upon the lending library.
      3. Community Borrowers do not have ILL privileges, but are encouraged to use the Washington County Public Library System.
    6. Courtesy overdue notices will be sent by email only. It is the borrower’s responsibility to promptly return items to the library.
    7. Fines are non-refundable, charged as a penalty for not returning checked out library materials by the due date. The following is a schedule of fines:
      1. General Collection: $.25/day; $100.00 maximum per item.
      2. Hourly Course Reserve: $1.00/hour; $100.00 maximum per item.
      3. Daily Course Reserve: $10.00/day; $100.00 maximum per item.
      4. Interlibrary Loan: $1/day; $25.00 maximum per item.
    8. Fees charged for loss or damage to library materials are non-refundable.
      1. Patron is responsible for the cost of any item lost or damaged.
      2. Amount charged is at the library’s discretion. It may be the replacement cost, original cost, or cost of repair.
      3. A mandatory $10.00 processing fee is added to the cost for all lost or damaged items.
      4. Costs are non-negotiable and are determined by the library acquisitions and/or book repair departments.
      5. The library does not accept replacement of a lost or damaged item with a similar copy.
    9. Collections: Fines and fees not resolved in the library within each semester will be transferred to the DSU Business Services Department for collection.
    10. Renewals: Items may not be renewed once they are overdue. Items may be renewed one time before the original due date. Reserve items may not be renewed.
      1. Renewal period is the same as the original check-out period.
      2. Renewals may be done online, in person, or by telephone.
      3. Renewals may be denied if an item has been requested by another patron.
      4. Renewals must be returned to the library at the end of the renewal period.
      5. After a renewed item is returned, a new check out is possible at that time if no one has requested the item.
  2. DSU BORROWERS
    1. Student—a person enrolled in classes at Dixie State University for credit, full or part-time. Students must present their college ID. Students registered for 3 credits or less must present picture ID and a copy of their schedule.
      1. Library card: Dixie State University ID Card
      2. Expiration: card must be validated each semester
      3. Checkout limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 weeks
      6. Card fee: none
    2. Faculty and Staff—faculty includes adjunct faculty in semesters of teaching assignments and faculty emeriti; staff includes full-time (benefited) or permanent part-time employees of Dixie State University.
      1. Library card: Dixie State University ID Card
      2. Expiration: conclusion of DSU employment
      3. Card limit: 50 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 8 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 8 weeks
      6. Card fee: none
    3. Faculty or Staff Spouse—spouse of benefited employee of Dixie State University. Employee must request the card on behalf of his/her spouse.
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: conclusion of spouse’s employment at DSU
      3. Card limit: 5 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
    4. Concurrent enrollment student—high school student enrolled in DSU classes for credit is considered a university student. Students must present picture ID and a copy of their schedule to obtain a library card.
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: card must be validated each semester
      3. Card limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
    5. Upward Bound—student enrolled in the DSU summer program for selected high school students.
      1. Library card: Dixie State University ID Card
      2. Expiration: end of program, usually mid-July
      3. Card limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
  3. ASSOCIATED BORROWERS
    1. Dixie State University Alumni—the borrower must present Alumni Card issued through the Alumni Office and picture ID or diploma card with barcode and picture ID.
      1. Library card: issued by DSU Alumni office (or diploma card)
      2. Expiration: card must be validated yearly
      3. Card limit: 5 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 weeks
      6. Card fee: none
    2. Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) Student or Faculty (reciprocal borrowing)—a student or faculty member who is currently attending classes or teaching at any UALC institution is covered by the UALC reciprocal borrowing agreement. The borrower must present the ID card of their school with the current sticker attached, if any.
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: card must be validated each semester
      3. Card limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
    3. University Center Student (U of U graduate student)—person enrolled in a DSU University Center program. The program administrator issues a list of students enrolled in their classes. The students use either their university ID card or a library services card supplied by the program. If they do not have university ID cards, they must provide photo IDs and a copy of their current school schedules.
      1. Library card: varies
      2. Expiration: card is must be validated each semester
      3. Card limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
    4. Board of Trustees or Board of Regents members; Utah State Office of Higher Education employees—at the discretion of the library director.
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: conclusion of term of service
      3. Card limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
  4. WASHINGTON COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT BORROWERS
    1. Washington County School District high school student—requires a signed agreement from the principal. The high school provides a list of students who will be given library privileges. The list is kept at the circulation desk for verification.
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: May 1 each year
      3. Card limit: 5 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: none
    2. Washington County School District Teacher/Principal—person employed by Washington County School District in an instructional capacity (this does not include student teachers, volunteers, paraprofessionals, assistants, or aides). Must show school district ID card.
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: May 1 each year
      3. Card limit: 25 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 weeks
      6. Card fee: none
  5. COMMUNITY BORROWERS
    1. Community Borrower—a resident of Washington or Kane County, at least 18 years of age, must show picture ID and proof of residency (driver’s license andutility bill or rent receipt).
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: one year from date of issue
      3. Card limit: 5 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: $25.00 per year
    2. Community Borrower (out of state)—a resident of a county in Arizona or Nevada that adjoins Washington County may be granted privileges at the discretion of the library director. Must be at least 18 years of age. Must show picture ID and proof of residency (driver’s license andutility bill or rent receipt).
      1. Library card: issued by DSUL
      2. Expiration: one year from date of issue
      3. Card limit: 5 items
      4. Checkout period for books: 3 weeks
      5. Checkout period for AV: 3 week
      6. Card fee: $100.00 per year
  6. LIMITED PRIVILEGES
    1. Study Guides—study guides for the Police Officer Selection Test (POST) are held in the Course Reserve area for the Dixie State University Testing Center. The study guide is made available for individuals who intend to take the POST exam. They will show a valid Utah driver’s license or other appropriate picture ID.
      1. Library card: none
      2. Expiration: none
      3. Card limit: 1 POST Study Guide
      4. Checkout period for study guide: 1 hour
      5. Card fee: none
    2. STIT—Short Term Intensive Training enrollee at DSU.
      1. Library card: issued by STIT program
      2. Expiration: indicated on the card
      3. Card limit: items set aside for specific class
      4. Checkout period for books: in-house only (usually Reserve items)
      5. Checkout period for AV: in-house only (usually Reserve items)
      6. Card fee: none