General Resources
Here are some general Business resources. Results lead to books, e-books, periodical articles, AV materials, and other resources.
- Val A. Browning Library CatalogProvides access to materials in the Val A. Browning library via the library catalog, including Reserves, Reference, books, e-books, DVDs, and other materials.
- Subject encyclopedias in BusinessLibrary catalog search for "encyclopedias and business."
- FirstSearch: WorldCat Advanced SearchSearch library catalogs in Utah and beyond, including Business resources.
- Global SearchComplete a comprehensive search on all links and databases available at the Val A. Browning Library. Be sure to select the Business box to narrow the search.
ebook Resources
- ebraryA large e-book collection spanning all academic subject areas, including Business and Economics.
- Sage Reference OnlineSelected reference encyclopedias and handbooks with full text access from Sage Publications, mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care. Articles are easily searchable; citations provided in APA and MLA formats. Free registration is available to users to allow for notifications and updates in specific subject areas. Includes over 25 titles in Business & Management, as well as Economics.
- Oxford Reference Online PremierLanguage and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference. Limited to 1 user at a time.Includes a selection of over 9 Economics & Business reference resources.
- EBSCOhost: eBook CollectionGo to e-book collection list. Select EBSCOHost e-book Collection. Provides online access to more than 3,500 books to browse or to read, including Business titles.
- County and City Data Book 2007
- The 2011 Statistical AbstractText of the Statistical Abstract of the US available in PDF format. A good starting point for general statistics on almost any subject, this resource provides a digest of statistics from many sources. Check the sources listed at the end of the statistical tables for updated or more detailed data.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2006
Information
The mission statement for the Dixie State College of Utah's Udvar-Hazy School of Business states that its purpose is:
... to prepare its students for success through knowledge and practical experience gained from personalized instruction and applied learning.
The library supports this mission by supplying library and online resource materials in various formats. This LibGuide provides links to a number of these resources, both general and specific. Included are online resources, databases, e-books, books, DVDs, and other materials. Topics include Accounting, Business, Finance, Management, and Marketing.
Help in identifying and using these resources can be found in the How To LibGuide.
Personal assistance from a librarian can be obtained from the Reference Desk at the Val A. Dixie State College Library on campus, by telephone at (435) 634-2081, via e-mail at library@dixie.edu, or through Text-A-Librarian using Text: DSClib ; To: 66746.
For research paper assistance, check out the Research Paper Help tab on the Citation Guide.
Need interlibrary loan services? Use the ILLiad connection.
Availability of periodical titles listed in citations can be identified via the Full-Text Periodicals List.
Go here for Citation help.
General Business Databases
- EBSCOhost: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and MasterFILE Premier, Advanced SearchSelect the combined Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Business Source Premier link. This is a convenience link for searching all three databases simultaneously.
- EBSCOhost: Regional Business NewsScroll down to Regional Business News on the list. Click on the link. Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- JSTORA scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in various subject areas. Can do basic or advanced searches of journals, as well as browse journals by subject or discipline. Contains Business, Economics, Finance, Management & Organizational Behavior, and Marketing & Advertising titles.
- LexisNexis® Academic & Library SolutionsIndexing and full text documents for over 5600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. This is an excellent database for information on current issues or business.
- ProQuest NewsstandFull-text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
- SAGE Journals Online Full text access to selected Sage Journals; indexing for the entire range of Sage journals. Users will want to select the “Sage content available to me” when doing searches in order to access full text articles available on campus first. Free registration is available to users to allow for notifications and updates in specific subject areas.
- ScienceDirectExtensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects. Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines, including over 90 titles in Business, Management, and Accounting, as well as over 90 titles in Economics, Econometrics and Finance under the Social Sciences and Humanities heading.
- Web of Knowledge / Web of ScienceConsolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types, including Business Economics.
Books and library materials
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Internet Resources
- STAT-USA Replacement -- links to sources / UCFSTAT-USA was a database of government information on business, economics, financial indicators, trade and more. This list of links replaces the now defunct STAT-USA.
- U of W Library Research Guides: BusinessThis series of research guides from the University of Washington covers marketing and advertising, accounting and finance, statistics, and resources for different kinds of businesses.
- United Nations Statistics Division - Demographic and Social Statistics
- Country Studies - Federal Research Division, Library of CongressThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of individual countries throughout the world.
- Census Bureau Home Page
- American FactFinderThe Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing: 2000 Census of Population and Housing, 1997 Economic Census, American Community Survey, 1990 Census of Population and Housing. You can use American FactFinder to find statistics about population, housing, industry and business.
- Gary Price's List of ListsContains numerous lists of information presented in the form of rankings of different people, organizations, companies, etc. Compiled by Gary Price, MLIS.
- Utah QuickFacts from the US Census BureauProvides the most current census data on population characteristics, housing, business ownership and activity, and geography for Utah at the state, county, and city level.
- USA Counties -- Statistics
- FedStats: MapStats

Loading...
