This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Author/Editor MLA FormatingBasic MLA RulesHow to cite AUDIO/VISUAL MATERIALSHow to cite BOOKS, eBOOKS, CHAPTERSHow to cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to cite JOURNALSHow to cite MAGAZINESHow to cite NEWSPAPERSHow to cite PERSONAL COMMUNICATIONHow to cite WEBSITESParenthetical Citations
Author/Editor APA FormatBasic APA RulesHow to cite AUDIO/VISUAL MATERIALSHow to cite BOOKS, eBOOKS, CHAPTERSHow to cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to cite JOURNALSHow to cite MAGAZINESHow to cite NEWSPAPERSHow to cite PERSONAL COMMUNICATIONHow to cite WEBSITESIn-text Citations

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guide  Tags: citation  

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.
Last update: Jul 15th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.dixie.edu/citationguide  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

Home         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact the reference staff via phone at 435-634-2081.

Reference Desk Hours:

M-Th 7:30 am to 10 pm
Fri 7:30 am to 7 pm

Is it Plagiarism?

Here are some sites discussing Plagiarism...
 
 

Why Cite Sources?

Giving credit to the original author of thoughts, words, and ideas is an important ethical concept.

  1. To avoid PLAGIARISM: While a bibliography does not prevent plagiarism, it is an important tool in avoiding plagiarism.
  2. BUILDING on research:  Pertinent information is gleaned from the ideas of those who came before, and a researcher then produces new knowledge by integrating the ideas of others with her own conclusions. This is the scholarly research process.
  3. TRACING research: According to Joseph Gibaldi, the author of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, “in presenting their work, researchers generously acknowledge their debts to predecessors by carefully documenting each source so that earlier contributions receive appropriate credit” (104). This is the basis for all scholarship. It is important that researchers give credit so readers can trace the ideas presented back to the sources.
  4. CONTRIBUTING ideas: Your contribution, as a student, to disciplinary knowledge is the unique ways you interpret and synthesize the words, thoughts, and ideas of authorities. In fact, giving credit to experts and authoritative sources gives your conclusions validity that cannot be achieved by simply stating one's own opinions.
  5. LOCATING additional research: And that is another reason for citations: it allows readers to access the cited materials if they are performing research on that topic.
 

Avoiding Plagiarism

The purpose of the parenthetical citation is to lead the reader to an exact item in the bibliography, so the first entry in the bibliography (usually author’s last name, sometimes title if no author is listed) is what is included in the parenthetical citation. Additionally, the exact point (page number) is listed.

Plagiarism is using the words, thoughts, or ideas of someone else without giving credit. Plagiarism can take many forms, and it can be intentional or accidental.

"Along with using someone’s direct words without quotation marks and attribution, plagiarism includes using someone’s thoughts or ideas and representing them as one’s own. For example, if you were to change the wording of a passage, but not credit the source, you are plagiarizing as much as if you used the original words. This presents something of a conundrum: students are required to use the research and writing of others, but such use is limited. In most research assignments, students are encouraged – or even required – to use the research of others, but proper credit must be given.

To ensure that you will give credit appropriately, begin by keeping your research materials organized. There are many note-taking systems available to assist you, but it is essential that you keep track of which ideas came from which sources. After finding good information from a reputable source, you must then integrate that information into your paper. There are several methods of doing this: quotation, paraphrase, and summary." (Talman)

 

Reference

Profile Image
Reference Librarians
Contact Info:
Daphne Selbert, DEAN 652-7711
David Zielke 652-7716
Bonnie Percival 652-7718
Dianne Hirning 652-7720
Linda Jones 879-4243
Caleb Ames 879-4321
Vickie Black 652-7719
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait