Other Related Databases
This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Dixie State University Library
Guide for resources for Cyber Crime, Crime, Criminals, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice, Forensic Medicine, Forensics, Digital Forensics, Juvenile Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Police, Prisons, Security Systems, Terrorism, White Collar Crime
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.dixie.edu/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Tutorials / Quick Guides

NOTE:  To maximize use and efficiency of databases, set up your preferences, bookshelves, folders, bookmarks, etc.

ebrary Demo: (11:36 min.). ebrary contains a wide variety of e-books that includes Criminal Justice topics.


 

Current News

BJA Justice Podcast Series

The Bureau of Justice Assistance is pleased to introduce the BJA Justice Podcast Series. These podcasts interview experts in a chosen field and are designed to provide listeners with the latest information about innovations, practices, and perspectives from the field of criminal justice.  -- The BJA Justice Podcast Series is now available through iTunes. Click here for instructions on how to download BJA's Podcasts to your iPod, iTouch, iPhone, or iPad. (BJA)

NIJ Multimedia Web page

The National Institute of Justice has a number of multimedia seminars and Web chats available for viewing. Topics include forensics, research and development, law enforcement, and more. View the full list of available resources at NIJ's Multimedia Web page. (NIJ)

The NIJ Director's Corner

The latest conversation with Dr. John Laub, Director of NIJ, is now available. This discussion, "NIJ and the Dutch Agree to Work Together to Improve the Use of Forensic Sciences," highlights a new partnership with the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research and the Netherlands Forensics Institute.

 

Citation Research Guide

There is a Research Guide (Citation Research Guide) designed to help create citations for bibliographies and works-cited pages in reference papers, as well as give guidelines and examples of research papers. 

  • Citing Sources
  • Annotating Citations
  • APA and MLA Styles
  • Useful Online Resources
  • Research Paper Helps
  • Annotated samples of formats from the Purdue University Owl (lefthand column) for:
    • Research papers
    • Bibliography/Works Cited
  • "Hot topics" examples for research papers

There are also Research Guides for other subject areas, such as your Criminal Justice Research Guide.

 

RESERVE COLLECTION

Reserve materials are located at the Circulation Desk. These materials may be searched in the Library's Online Catalog (by title, author, keyword, etc.); OR, you may use the blue-lettered tool bar below the top DSC Library red banner and click on Reserve Desk. There you can look up Reserve materials by (1) instructor, (2) course number, or (3) course name.

Generally Reserve materials are for use in the library only and have a specified time limit.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Use the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) system to request books and articles that are not available at the DSC Library.

To verify whether or not a specific book title you need is owned by the library, search the Online Library Catalog.  

To check the library's full-text magazine and journal holdings, search the Full-Text Periodicals List.  

You are also welcome to contact the library reference desk for searching assistance.

 

Books

Books, etc. > Library Home Page > Books & More > Online Catalog (OR, go directly to Online Catalog on Library home page.

WorldCat (OCLC) : A searchable OCLC catalog of books and other materials from Utah libraries and beyond. Able to search the DSC online catalog alone, or the Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) libraries throughout Utah and UNLV. WorldCat also covers libraries worldwide.

 

DVD / VHS / CD / etc.

Audiovisual -- DVD, VHS, CDs, etc. The best way to search for videos, or other audiovisual materials:
Library Online Catalog > use "Power Search" function (link) > click on "Material Type" box > choose "Audio Visual" to narrow your search to DVDs, VHSs, CDs, etc. -- Having trouble finding what you need? Contact a librarian for help.

Many Books on CDs are located in the locked glass case in the "link area" and may be looked at there. Obtain the help of Circulation Desk personnel to unlock the case and check out the materials.

Also, a selection of VHS/DVDs may be located in the Library RESERVE Collection, located at the Circulation Desk. These materials are placed there by your instructors. Generally, these materials are to be viewed for a limited time in the Library. (Check instructions for the RESERVE Collection above.)


     

    Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text

    Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text (EBSCOhost) : Contains 300,000+ records in criminology, criminal justice, corrections & prisons, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, substance abuse & addiction, and probation & parole. Includes full-text for more than 200 magazines & journals, as well as full textbooks and monographs. Covers hundreds of journals from around the world because of the increased globalization of criminology. Mostly Full-text.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip