Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Art and Art Education: Graphic Design and Graphic Design History

This guide will help find resources with an art or art education emphasis

Graphic Design Menu

What you will find here:

  1. Magazines and Journals
  2. Web Resources
  3. Databases
  4. Reference Books and E-books
  5. Online Tutorials

If we don't have it use Inter-library Loan!

Click this link to access ILLiad (our InterLibrary Loan service that is free for faculty and students:

ILLIAD

Magazines and Journals (Print and Online)

Communication Arts Magazine
Current print Issue is on the 2M floor of the library
Past issues on the 3rd floor (NC 997 .A1 C2 FOLDER)

CMYK Magazine
Current print Issue is on the 2M floor of the library
Past issues on the 3rd floor (TR 1 .C59 1997-2009)

HOW Magazine
Current print Issue is on the 2M floor of the library
Past issues on the 3rd floor (NC 1000 .H68 FOLDER)

Design Issues Magazine
Database access only from 03/01/1997 to 1 year ago in:
JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Archive Collection
Academic Search Premier
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Business Source Premier
Computer Source: Consumer Edition
MasterFILE Premier

Web Resources

Cary Graphic Arts Collection at the Wallace Center of the Rochester Institute of Technology, New York
http://library.rit.edu/cary

Graphic Design Archive at the Rochester Institute of Technology
http://library.rit.edu/gda

The Graphic Arts Collection at Princton University
http://www.princeton.edu/~rbsc/department/graphicarts
Blog:
http://blogs.princeton.edu/graphicarts

The Library of Congress Popular Graphic Arts
http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/pga

The Grunwald Center for the Graphic Arts   |   Hammer Museum   |   UCLA
http://hammer.ucla.edu/collections/detail/collection_id/5


Databases

Safari Books Online
Search, browse, read, and print full-text information technology books online. Includes titles from O’Reilly, Pearson, Cisco Press, and more. Search through a wide variety of titles covering databases, desktop applications and publishing, enterprise computing, graphics, markup languages, multimedia, networking, operating systems, programming, security, and software engineering. Up to 20 concurrent users.

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Full text coverage from the Wilson database of periodicals and journals of articles on art, architecture and archaeology throughout the world.

Reference Books and E-books

The Dixie State University Library recommends additional reference sources in print. This list shows a few of the titles related to the graphic arts. Some are available online, in print at the library, or available via inter-library loan. If you need help finding one, give the reference desk a call.

Online Tutorials

UNDER CONSTRUCTION! Check back soon!

Art, Life Sciences, and Physical Sciences Librarian

John Burns's picture
John Burns
Contact:
Holland Building 243