Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OER & Affordable Course Materials: Integrating DSU Articles into Canvas

Resources to aid faculty in the areas of copyright/fair use, OER resources and integrating articles into Canvas

EBSCOhost Databases

‚Äč1. Find the article you want to include in your course from an EBSCOhost database.

2. Select the title of your article. 

3. Select Permalink from the tools menu on the right side.

4. Copy and paste the Permalink into the desired document or in an External URL in Canvas.

https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=96920885&site=ehost-live 

Project Muse

Test the DOI from Project Muse

Pospelova, Anna, et al. "Embedded Librarians as Providers of Knowledge Services." portal: Libraries and the Academy, vol. 18 no. 4, 2018, p. 651-669. Project MUSEdoi:10.1353/pla.2018.0039.

 

And test DOI from Science Direct (Elsevier)

Faculty perceptions of librarian value: The moderating relationship between librarian contact, course goals, and students' research skills

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2019.03.003

ProQuest Databases

 

ProQuest Logo

1. Find the journal or newspaper article you want to include from a ProQuest database. 

2. Select the title of the source. 

3. Click on the Abstract / Details Tab found just below the title. 

4. Scroll down to the Document URL and copy and paste the URL in your document or as an External URL in Canvas. You're not done yet!

 

5. Add the DSU EZProzy, https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=  to the front of the Document URL. 

https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/2230016189?accountid=27045

Now you are done!

JSTOR database

1. Find the article or book you want to include. 

2. Select the title of the source. 

3. Copy and paste the stable URL.

4. If the source is open access then you are done. If not, you will need to include the DSU EZProzy, https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=  to the front of the link. 

https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25549472

Alexander Street Press Databases

Alexander Street Logo

1. Find the album, audio track, video, or book you want to include from a Alexander Street Press database. 

2. Select the title of your media.

3. Select </> Embed/Link

Embed Link

4. Copy and paste the permanent link into the desired document or External URL in Canvas. 

http://libproxy.dixie.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity%257Crecorded_cd%257C2210190?account_id=27045&usage_group_id=87491

 

ARTstor Database

ARTstor logo

1. Find the visual artwork you want to include from ARTstor. 

2. Click on Copy next to the link. 

4. Paste the link into your document or External URL in Canvas. There is one more step to make the link work off campus. 

5. Add the DSU EZProzy, https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=  to the front of the link from ARTstor 

https://login.libproxy.dixie.edu/login?url=https://library.artstor.org/#/asset/AMICO_CHICAGO_1031150308