Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 3600: Literary Theory: Introduction to Literary Research

A research guide designed to help you successfully navigate your literary research for the course assignments.

English literature databases

Search for books

Books in the Library: Search in the Library Catalog for books by or about an author by putting the Author's name in quotation marks.
Example
: "Madeline L'Engle"
 
Ebooks available online: Ebooks are electronic versions of print books available full text on-line. Select E-Book Collections or search for titles in the Online Library Catalog.  An E-Book will be listed as an electronic resource and will not have a call number. E-books are fully searchable and can be retained on an electronic bookshelf!

Books in other Libraries: WorldCat is located below E-Book Collections in the Books & More tab on the library home page.  This catalog allows you to search for books and materials in libraries across the world.  It will identify books that are at Dixie State University, but provides listings for books from other libraries as well.  Books not in your library can be ordered through Interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary Loan: To order books not in the Dixie State University Library use the online Interlibrary Loan service. Allow 10 days for delivery.

Interlibrary loan suggestions

Google Scholar and the DSU Library databases

Google Scholar Search

How to make Google Scholar work for you

Go to Settings ⇒ Library Links ⇒ Search for “Dixie State” ⇒ Check the box next to “Dixie State University – Full-Text @ Dixie” ⇒ Save

Blue links out to the right of an article indicate if/where you can find that article. The above step lets you see what we have available right here at the DSU Library.

Google Scholar doesn't allow you to narrow searches like a database does, but it does give you access to scholarly articles that may be available online for free or at another college or university. It's also a good way to scan for available research on extremely focused topics or find articles to request on Interlibrary Loan.

  • Google Scholar works best for the sciences and social sciences.
  • The more narrow your topic and focused your keywords, the better your results
  • Blue links to the right of the article titles give you access to DSU databases or other websites

Dianne Aldrich

Dianne Aldrich's picture
Dianne Aldrich
Contact:
Holland Centennial Commons, Office 245
435-652-7720
Skype Contact: Dianne3895