Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Resources: Education Databases

Education resources found in Dixie State University Library

HELP sheets

These are helpful handouts for you on how to search these databases.

Article Databases

Educational Databases:

PsycArticles, PsycBooks, PsycInfo, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) :A convenience link for searching these psychology-oriented databases simultaneously.

ERIC (EBSCOhost): ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. (EBSCO)
 

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost): Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965. (EBSCO)
 

Education Full Text (WilsonWeb): Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996. (Wilson Web) 
 
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost): PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present. (EBSCO)

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database : It is the mission of the Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database Company to provide reliable one search access to all important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media. (CLCD).

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) : The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (EBSCO).

ScienceDirect (Elsevier Journals): ScienceDirect has over 2500 authorative journals. The database covers topics such as science, social sciences, technology, and medicine. It includes such journals as Educational Research Review, Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Developement, Evaluation in Education, Advances in Early Education and Day Care, etc.