Research Guides: Education Resources: Subject Encyclopedias

E-Reference Sources

Here are some great sources using an E-reference source.

Gale Virtual Reference
Encyclopedia of Education 2nd ed.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society.

Sage e-Reference Libraray
Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning
Encylopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration:
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and Media
Encyclopedia of Education Law
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society

ebrary
Encyclopedia of African-American Education
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning

Reference Shelves

Here are some selected Reference books for you to use.

Education and Sociology by David Levinson (Editor); Peter W. Cookson (Editor); Alan R. Sadovnik (Editor)
Call Number: LC 189.95 .E38 2002
ISBN: 9780815316152
Publication Date: 2001-11-02
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of American Education by Harlow G. Unger
Call Number: LB 17 .U54 2001
ISBN: 9780816068876
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education by Leslie R. Williams (Editor); Doris P. Fromberg (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1139.25 .E53 1992
ISBN: 9780824046262
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Education by Macmillan Reference Library Staff; James W. Guthrie (Editor)
Call Number: LB 15 .E47 2003
ISBN: 9780028655949
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Publisher's description: This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 121 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text primary source documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Encyclopedia of Educational Research by Marvin C. Alkin (Editor)
Call Number: LB 15 .E48 1992
ISBN: 9780029004319
Publication Date: 1992-04-01
Sponsored by the American Educational Research Association.
Encyclopedia of Higher Education by Burton R. Clark (Editor); Guy Neave
Call Number: LB 15 .E49 1992
ISBN: 9780080372518
Publication Date: 1992-07-29
v. l. National systems of higher education -- v. 2-3. Analytical perspectives -- v. 4. Academic disciplines and indexes
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities by Carol A. Turkington; Joseph R. Harris
Call Number: LC 4704.5 .T86 2002
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Includes bibliographical references (p. 281-284) and index.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by Louise Grinstein; Sally I. Lipsey
Call Number: QA 11 .E665 2001
ISBN: 9780815316473
Publication Date: 2001-03-15
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Edited by Cecil R. Reynolds, Elaine Fletcher-Janzen.
Call Number: LC 4007 .E53 2000
v. 1. AAAS to dystonia musculorum deformans (DMD) -- v. 2. Ear and hearing to overcorrection -- v. 3. Palmar crease to zygosity
International Encyclopedia of Education by Editors-in chief Torsten Husen, T. Neville Postlethwaite.
Call Number: LB 15 .I569 1994
2nd edition.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Education and National System of Education by T. Neville Postlethwaite, editor
Call Number: LB 43 .E53 1988
Includes bibliographies and indexes
Sport and Physical Education: the key concepts by Timothy Chandler, and John Lindsay
Call Number: GV 567 .C43 2002
Includes bibliographical references and index
Standard and Schooling in the United States: an Encyclopedia by Joe L. Kincheloe and Danny Weil, editors.
Call Number: LB 2822.82 .S82 2001
Administration -- Art -- Best practices -- Bilingual education -- California state standards -- Certification of teachers -- Class and socioeconomics -- Consequences of standards -- Curriculum -- Democracy -- Elementary education -- Epistemology -- Evaluation -- Florida state standards -- Functionalism -- Goals of standards -- History -- Interpretation -- Justice and education -- Knowledge -- Learning theory and cognition -- Mediated learning -- Multiculturalism -- Nontraditional schools -- Opposition to standards -- Philosophical analysis and standards -- Politics of education -- Purposes of education -- Queer sexuality --- Reductionism -- Regulating teachers -- School accreditation -- Science -- Social studies -- Subject matter and content -- Teacher education -- Testing -- Texas state standards -- Urban education -- Vocational and work education -- Working with knowledge
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yo Jackson, editor
Call Number: BF 31 .E63 2006
Addresses topics as diverse as academic achievement, acculturation, affirmative action, community interventions, education, health, immigrants, prejudice, racial identity development, social ecology, stereotyping, teaching multiculturalism, tokenism, values, violence, worldviews, and more.
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory by Larry R. Squire, editor
Call Number: BF 318 .E53 1992
Includes bibliographical references and index
World education encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide by Rebecca Marlow-Ferguson, editor and project coordinator ; Chris Lopez, associate editor
Call Number: LB 15 .W87 2001
Contents: v. 1. Afghanistan-Hungary -- v. 2. Iceland-Rwanda -- v. 3. Saint Helena—Zimbabwe
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Bernice E. Cullinan, editor
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C66 2001
Includes bibliographical references and index
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Peter Hunt, editor
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .I57 1996
Includes bibliographical references and index
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Growth and Development by Stanley J. Ulijaszek, editor
Call Number: QP 84 .C26 1998
Includes bibliographical references and index
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by Joseph D. Noshpitz, editor
Call Number: RJ 499.3 .H356 1997 v. 1-4
v. 1. Infants and preschoolers : development and syndromes --v.2. The grade school child : development and syndromes -- v.3. Adolescence : development and syndromes -- v.4. Varieties of development.