Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

General Reference: Encyclopedias

This guide will help you find sources in the Browning Library at Dixie State College or online.

Online Encyclopedias

Here are some handy Online Encyclopedias for your use...

Subject Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are an excellent place to begin research. They will provide background information, terminology to use in searching databases, and often include a bibliography that can be a good start to your research. The library has two types of encyclopedias: general and subject specific.

Subject encyclopedias often have more specific information on a topic.
General encyclopedias are located in the "A" section of the Library of Congress stacks.

All call numbers refer to the library Reference Collection.

E-books are only available on the DSC campus or by searching the individual e-book collection or database through off-campus access to e-books or Article Databases.

Go to the Subject Encyclopedia list under the "Books and More" section on the library webpage or click here, Subject Encyclopedia.

Dixie's Subscription Online Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Gale Virtual Reference Library, eBooks - in virtually any subject area including health, science, art, history, biography and many more.

The Oxford Digital Reference Shelf: The Oxford Digital Reference Shelf is an exciting new initiative offering libraries the opportunity to purchase electronic editions of an expanding range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly reference titles.

The Oxford Reference Online Premium: Oxford Reference Online is updated at least three times a year with new titles, new editions, and additional features. In addition, all content in the Premium Collection is reviewed and updated regularly.

Sage eReference Encyclopedia: There are over 40 eReference Titles available online. Each title has its own unique design.

 

Reference

Reference Librarians's picture
Reference Librarians
Contact:
David Zielke 652-7716

Dianne Aldrich 652-7720

Linda Jones 879-4243

Caleb Ames 879-4321

John Burns 879-4712

Kathleen Broeder 652-7718