Dixie State University Library
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: How to cite BOOKS, eBOOKS, CHAPTERS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

How to cite BOOKS

Note:

Note number. Author First Last Name, Title (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Pub.), pages cited.

Sample Note:

43. Kathleen E. Welch, Electric Rhetoric: Classical Rhetoric, Oralism and a New Literacy (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1999), 143.

Bibliography:
Author Last, First Name. Title. Edition. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Pub.

Sample Citation:

Welch, Kathleen E. Electric Rhetoric: Classical Rhetoric, Oralism and a New Literacy. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1999.

How to cite BOOKS with MULTIPLE AUTHORS

Note:

Note number. Author First Last Name and Author First Last Name, Title (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Publication), pages cited.

Sample Note:

3. Kathleen E. Welch and George B. Shaw, Electric Guitars: Classical Strumming, (Cambridge: MIT Press, 2007), 99-101.

Sample Note for 4 or more authors:

5. Sam E. Smith, et al. Hammering out your Resume, (Los Angeles: University of California, 2010), 111.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name and First Last Name. Title: Subtitle of book. edition. Location: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Sample Citation:

Rodriguez-Garcia, Robert, and Ellen M. White. Self-assessment in Managing for Results: Conducting Self-assessment for Development Practitioners. Boston: University of Massachusetts, 2008.

How to cite eBOOKS (previously published)

Note:

Note number. Author First Last Name and Author First Last Name, Title (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Publication), pages cited, URL or database or doi number or App used.

Sample Note:

3. Harold Speed, The Practice and Science of Drawing (New York: Dover Publications, 1972), 110-11, http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/14264.

5. Manisha Paliwal, Business Ethics (New Delhi: New Age International Limited, 2006), 25, ProQuest eBook Central.

7. Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers: The Story of Success (Boston: Little, Brown, 2008), 193, Kindle.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of book: Subtitle of book. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL or database or doi number or App used.

Sample Citation:

Speed, Harold. The Practice and Science of Drawing. New York: Dover Publications, 1972. http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/14264.

Paliwal, Manisha. Business Ethics. New Delhi: New Age International Limited, 2006. ProQuest eBook Central.

Gladwell, Malcolm. Outliers: The Story of Success. Boston: Little, Brown, 2008. Kindle.

How to cite CHAPTERS in a book, anthology or article in subject encyclopedia

Note:

Note number. Chapter Author First Last Name and Author First Last Name, “Title of Chapter,” in Title, ed. Editor’s first and Last Names (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year of Publication), pages cited.

Sample Note:

3. Lucy Grealy, “Fear Itself,” in The Broadview Anthology of Expository Prose, ed. Tammy Roberts (Peterborough, Ontario: Broadview, 2002), 451.

Bibliography:

Chapter Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of chapter or article.” In Title of book: Subtitle of book, Edition, edited by Editor’s First and Last Name, pages. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication.

Sample Citation:

Grealy, Lucy. “Fear Itself.”  In The Broadview Anthology of Expository Prose, edited by Tammy Roberts, 450-61. Peterborough, Ontario: Broadview, 2002.