Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: How to cite PERIODICALS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

Newspapers

For newspapers, see Footnotes/ End notes section.

Scholarly Journal

Note:

Note number. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal Volume number, issue number (Date of Publication): pages.

Sample Note:

3. Gerard Hise, “Home Building and Industrial Decentralization in Los Angeles,” Journal of Urban History 19, no. 6 (1993): 125.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Name of Journal volume, issue (Date of Publication): pages.

Sample Citation:

Hise, Gerard. “Home Building and Industrial Decentralization in Los Angeles.” Journal of Urban History 19, no. 6 (1993): 95-125.

Scholarly Journal Online

Note:

Note number. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal Volume number, issue number (Date of Publication): pages, URL or doi number.

Sample Note:

3. Winfried Denk, James H. Strickler, and Watt W. Webb, “Two-photon Laser Scanning Fluorescence Microscopy,” Science 248, no. 4951 (1990): 75, https://dx.doi.org/10.1126/science.2321027.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Name of Journal volume number, issue number (Date of Publication): pages. URL or database or doi number or App used.

Sample citations:

Denk, Winfried, James H. Strickler, and Watt W. Webb. “Two-photon Laser Scanning Fluorescence Microscopy.” Science 248, no. 4951 (1990): 73-76. http://dx.doi.org/10.1126/science.2321027.

Gold, Ann Grodzins. “Grains of Truth: Shifting Hierarchies of Food and Grace in Three Rajasthani Tales.” History of Religions 38, no. 2 (November 1998):150-71. http://www.jstor.org/stable/316672.

Walliss, John. “Lies, Damned Lies and Statistics? Nineteenth Century Crime Statistics for England and Wales as a Historical Source.” History Compass 10, no. 8 (August 2012): 574-83. Historical Abstracts with Full Text.

Magazine

Note:

Note number. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, page.

Sample Note:

3. Jill Lepore, “Dickens in Eden,” New Yorker, August 29, 2011, 52.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of article.” Name of Magazine, Date of Publication.

Sample Citation:

Lepore, Jill. “Dickens in Eden.” New Yorker, August 29, 2011.

Electronic Magazine

Note:

Note number. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, URL or doi number.

Sample Note:

3. Michael M. Grynbaum, “A Market Decline in Search of a Reason,” New York Times Magazine, September 4, 2008, https://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/04/business/worldbusiness/04iht-05stox.15907105.html.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name.  “Title of article.” Name of Magazine, Date of Publication. URL or doi number.

Sample citation:

Grynbaum, Michael M. “A Market Decline in Search of a Reason.” New York Times Magazine, September 4, 2008. https://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/04/business/worldbusiness/04iht-05stox.15907105.html.