Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

Note

When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use (n.d.) as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.

How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

APA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of entry or article. Name of reference source (Vol. number, pp. pages). Publisher.

Examples:

Home. (1989). In J. Simpson & E. Weiner (Eds.), Oxford English dictionary (2nd ed., p. 324). Oxford University Press.

Rupp, R. (2003). Home schooling. In A. DiStefano, K. E. Rudestam, & R. J. Silverman (Eds.), Encyclopedia of distributed learning (pp. 325-327). Sage.

The art of architecture. (2002). In Britannica editors (Eds.), Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia (Vol. 1, pp. 243-261). Encyclopædia Brittanica.

How to cite ONLINE Encyclopedias

APA Online Encyclopedia Entry

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of publication). Title of entry or article. In Name of editor (Ed.), Name of reference source. Retrieved from complete URL from authoritative website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of publication). Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. doi number with URL

Example:,
Photonics. (n.d.). In The Columbia Encyclopedia. (6th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1E1-photonics.html

Guttentag, J. (1921). Demand clause. In J. M. Morgan (Ed.), Mortgage encyclopedia. https://doi.org/10.1036/0071458492