Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAs

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

CSE Encyclopedia/Dictionary Citation

  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. Year of Publication. Title of book: subtitle of book. edition. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:
Cowie AP, Mackin R. 1975. Oxford dictionary of current idiomatic English. Vol. 1, Verbs with prepositions and particles. Oxford (UK): Oxford University Press.

Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary. 2003. 11th ed. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster, Inc.

How to cite ONLINE Encyclopedias

CSE Online Encyclopedia Citation

  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. Year of Publication. Title of book: subtitle of book. edition. City of Publication (State): Publisher; [date updated; date accessed]. Notes (such as URL or doi number).

E-book Example:
Science. 2019. Encyclopedia Britannica[place unknown]; [accessed 2019 May 16]. https://www.britannica.com/science/science.

How to cite entry from SUBJECT Encyclopedia

CSE Entry of an Edited Subject Encyclopedia/Dictionary Citation

  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented  

Author's Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. Date of Publication. Title of chapter or article. In Last Name, Initials, editor(s). Title of book: subtitle of book. Place of Publication: Publisher. pages.

Examples:

Hazeltine WA. 1990. AIDS. In The encyclopedia Americana. International ed. Danbury (CT): Grolier Incorporated. p. 365-366.