Dixie State University Library
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

How to cite SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS

ACS Subject Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced

  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

  • Reference sources sources, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and indexes, are important sources of information in the sciences.

  • As always, provide what information you can. For reference sources, the title of the work, the subtitle of the particular entry being cited, and the publication information is most important.

Author, A. A., Author, B. B. Article Title. In Title of Reference Work, Edition Information; Editor, E. E., Eds.; Publisher, Year; Volume, pp Pagination.

Examples:

Powder Metallurgy. In Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 3rd ed.; Wiley, 1982; Vol. 19, pp 28-62.

Diagnostic Reagents. In Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 5th ed.; VCH, 1985; Vol. A8, pp 455-491.

How to cite ONLINE SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIA

ACS Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced

  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

  • Reference sources sources, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and indexes, are important sources of information in the sciences.

  • As always, provide what information you can. For reference sources, the title of the work, the subtitle of the particular entry being cited, and the publication information is most important.

  • For online reference works, include a URL or DOI.

Author, A. A., Author, B. B. Article Title. In Title of Reference Work, Edition Information; Editor, E. E., Eds.; Publisher, Year. Updated Month Day, Year. DOI or URL

Examples:

Vallero, D. A. Air Pollution, ver. 3. In Kirk‐Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; Wiley, 2015. Updated March 16, 2015. DOI: 10.1002/0471238961.01091823151206.a01.pub3