Dixie State University Library
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: How to cite JOURNALS

A guide to create citations for bibliographies and works cited in reference papers.

How to cite PRINT JOURNALS

ACS Journal Article Citation

  • List authors' last names, followed by their initials. For multiple authors, place a semicolon between author names. 

  • Indent any lines beyond the first line of an entry. 

  • Use the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index to correctly abbreviate scientific journal titles.

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation YearVolume, Inclusive Pagination.

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Journal Abbreviation YearVolume, Inclusive Pagination.

Examples:

Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Block. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019141 (7), 2742−2753.

Evans, D. A.; Fitch, D. M.; Smith, T. E.; Cee, V. J. Application of Complex Aldol Reactions to the Total Synthesis of Phorboxazole B. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2000122, 10033-10046.

How to cite JOURNALS from a DATABASE

ACS Journal Article Citation

  • List authors' last names, followed by their initials. For multiple authors, place a semicolon between author names. 

  • Indent any lines beyond the first line of an entry. 

  • Use the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index to correctly abbreviate scientific journal titles.

  • For articles found through an electronic database, include the database name in the citation.

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation, Date, Volume, Issue, Inclusive Pagination. DOI (accessed YYYY-MM-DD from database).

Examples:

Lanzotti A.; Grasso M.; Staiano G.; Martorelli M. The Impact of Process Parameters on Mechanical Properties of Parts Fabricated in PLA with an Open-source 3-D Printer. Rapid Prototyp. J. 201521 (5), 604−617. DOI: 10.1108/RPJ-09-2014-0135 (accessed 2019-11-22 from ProQuest: Materials Science & Engineering Collection).

How to cite ONLINE JOURNALS

ACS Journal Article Citation

  • List authors' last names, followed by their initials. For multiple authors, place a semicolon between author names. 

  • Indent any lines beyond the first line of an entry. 

  • Use the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index to correctly abbreviate scientific journal titles.

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation Year, Volume, Issue, Inclusive Pagination. DOI.

Examples:

Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Block. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019141 (7), 2742−2753. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.8b08648