Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Nursing and Health Sciences: Online Library Resources

Guide to Library and Internet resources for Nursing, Medical Laboratory Science, CNA, EMS/EMT/Paramedic, Medical Radiography, Physical Therapist Assistant, Respiratory Therapist, and Surgical Technology Programs

Google Scholar Search Box

Google Scholar Search

Health Science Articles and Online Resources

  • ACCESSMedicine : Gives access to Harrison's Online that features the complete content of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17th ed. Harrison's Online expands and continually updates. New, updated chapters for the new 18th ed. are being posted. Many new sections of the chapters only appear in Harrison's Online. Also includes lecture notes, podcasts, emergency medicine photo gallery, and videos.

 

  • Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCOhost) : Focuses on complementary, alternative, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides full-text for 180+ international journals and reports (often peer-reviewed), some as far back as 1984, and full-text back to 1990. Also includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts. Full-text.

 

  • Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (EBSCOhost) : Designed for doctors, research scientist, students, clinical specialists, and managers. Provides full-text for 100+ journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles are indexed in MEDLINE. Full-text.   

 

  • CINAHL and CINAHL with Full Text  (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCOhost) : The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health. Indexing/abstracting for 2,928+ current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1981, totaling 1,000,000+ records. Includes Pre-CINAHL that provides limited bibliographic information on health science articles in the indexing process, with no subject searching and no full-text. Pre-CINAHL is a preview of citation and abstracts that will appear in the CINAHL database.

 

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) : Provides 550+ scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines; with abstracts/indexing for 850+ additional journals. Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with 4,700+ brand names. Full-text.

 

  • Journal of Periodontology (American Academy of Periodontology): Official journal of the AAP publishes original scientific articles to support practice, education, and research in the dental specialty of periodontics. Website includes continuing education, periodontal organizations, and student & educator resources. 

 

  • MedicLatina (EBSCOhost) : Contains full-text for 120+ peer-reviewed native Spanish-language medical research & investigative journals from renowned Latin American & Spanish publishers. Full-text.

 

  • MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) : Provides authoritative medical indexing on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Searches citations from 4,800+ current biomedical journals.

 

 

  • PubMed: A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 21 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes how-to tutorial.

 

  • ScienceDirect (Elsevier) : Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Offers a journal collection of over 2,500 titles, with 9,034,799 articles. Full-text.    

‚Äč

  • Web of Science (part of ISI Web of Knowledge) : Explores top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder. 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar : (Google > More [top bar, right] > Google Scholar) : A freely accessible Web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online journals of Europe and America's largest scholarly publishers. It is similar in function to the freely available Scirus from Elsevier, CiteSeerX, and getCITED. Because most of Google Scholar's search results link directly to commercial journal articles, a majority of the time users will only be able to access a brief summary of the articles topics, as well as small amounts of important information regarding the article, and possibly have to pay a fee to access the entire article.  Through its "cited by" feature, Google Scholar provides access to abstracts of articles that have cited the article being viewed.--from Wikipedia