Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Nursing and Health Sciences: Internet Resources

Guide to Library and Internet resources for Nursing, Medical Laboratory Science, CNA, EMS/EMT/Paramedic, Medical Radiography, Physical Therapist Assistant, Respiratory Therapist, and Surgical Technology Programs

Occupations

Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics) : For the covered occupations, this handbook lists: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions. In addition, the handbook gives job search tips and links to information about the job market in each state.

Medline

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

Medline (EBSCO) ; or Medline (Web of Science) : Medline abstracts (not full-text) are found through both EBSCOhost and Web of Science databases, under "Medline" title in the Alphabetical List. Indexing and abstracting for medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. This is a standard reference to locate articles for the fields of medicine and allied health. Medline (Web of Science) does contain some links to full-text.

Merck Manual

The Merck Manual Online :  The Merck Manual Online includes a series of online healthcare books for healthcare professionals and consumers. Receives updates periodically with new information to insure that the information is as up-to-date as possible. Contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions. Includes cardiovascular; clinical; critical care; dental; dermatologic; ear, nose & throat; endocrine & metabolic; eye; gastrointestinal; and genitourinary; as well as ready reference guides, trade names for some commonly used drugs, multimedia, and related links.

Free Practice Tests

The following are FREE Online Practice Tests websites. These tests include many areas--general (GED, SAT, ACT, TOEFL, etc.) and specific (NCLEX, TEAS, etc.).

  • Test Prep Review : Includes NCLEX, Nursing Test Practice, TEAS, etc. Also includes preparation and study tips.
  • Study Guide Zone : Includes NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, TEAS, etc. Also includes college tips, study tips, directories, etc.
  • 4Tests : Includes NCLEX. Also includes The Road to College, Application Dos and Don'ts, etc.

Statistical Resources

  • IBIS-PH : State of Utah's, Department of Health, Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health (IBIS-PH). This site provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system.
  • The Cochrane Collaboration :an international, independent, not-for-profit organization of over 27,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide. Produces systematic assessments of healthcare interventions, known as Cochrane Reviews, which are published online in the Cochrane Library (subscription based). For DSC, includes summaries of articles only, not the full-text. Also includes Cochrane in the News, events, links, etc. 
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) : The federal lead agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of healthcare for Americans. Includes clinical information, consumers & patients, funding opportunities, data & surveys, research findings, priority populations, quality and patient safety, health IT, and public health preparedness, as well as, news & events, publications, and comparative effectiveness. For DSC, includes summaries of articles only, not the full-text. Order the full-text of articles through Interlibrary Loan.
  • National Center for Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, CDC) : Produces data concerning the health, mortality, disability, nutrition, and health expenditures of the United States. Titles such as Vital Statistics of the United States (detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage, and divorce), Health (annual report on trends in health statistics), United States (annual report on trends in health statistics), and Healthy People 2010 (challenges individuals, communities, and professionals to take specific steps to ensure that good health and long life are enjoyed by all) are available through this website.
  • CDC Wonder (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) : Utilizes an ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are available. 

Anatomy/Physiology/Pathology

  • The Auscultation Assistant : Helps students distinguish between normal and abnormal sounds and includes information about the physiology of various types of murmurs.
  • On-Line Interactive Patient Simulators (nurses.info) : Provides hyperlinks to many types of patient scenarios (e.g., pediatric trauma, adult emergencies). Using the information given in the scenario, the diagnosis and treatment plan can be determined.
  • WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education : Supplies over 1,900 images with relevant text showing gross and microscopic pathologic findings. Includes tutorials and options for self-testing.

Nursing

  • General Sites / Government Agencies
    • Medical Library Association (MLA) : User's guide to finding and evaluating health information on the Web. Set up in 3 parts: Getting started, Guidelines, and Additional information. Included are: Content evaluation guidelines (sponsorship, currency, factual information, and audience) , Additional help, MLA "Top Ten" most useful consumer health websites, MLA recommended cancer websites, MLA recommended diabetes websites, MLA recommended heart disease websites.
    • NLM Gateway (U.S. National Institutes of Health) : A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Includes links to MedLine Plus, ClinicalTrials.gov , etc. 
    • National Institutes of Health (NIH) : Focal point for health research committed to diagnosing, treating, and preventing various diseases and conditions.
    • Health on the Net Foundation (HON) : A non-profit, non-governmental organization that promotes and guides the deployment of useful and reliable health information, and its appropriate and efficient use. Divides searching into 3 groups: patient/individual, medical professional, and web publisher. Then it is divided into: HONcode, HONsearch, HONtools, and HONtopics.
    • DIRLINE : Directory of health organizations : Provides descriptions, locations, and contact information for numerous organizations, projects, databases, etc. Searchable database and A-to-Z listing contain over 8,500 organizations. 
    • Drug Information Portal : Currently covers more than 15,000 drugs, beginning with their entry into clinical trials. The portal's Resources by Audience/Class is a useful feature that provides links to various sources for particular audiences and categories of drugs.
    • DynaMed Weekly Update (EBSCO) : Free newsletter subscription (only). Compilation of 1-5 articles selected from DynaMed's Systematic Literature Surveillance as articles most likely to change clinical practice. Note: Must individually subscribe to free newsletter subscription.
    • PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset : ODS and the National Library of Medicine partnered to create this Dietary Supplement Subset. PubMed provides access to citations from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals.Includes links to many full-text articles and other Web-related resources. Limits search results from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature, including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.
  • Diseases, Conditions, & Research
    • The Cochrane Library (Wiley Interscience) : Contains high-quality, independent evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, etc. Includes summaries only, NOT full-text.
    • Health Services Research Projects in Process (HSRProj) -- National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR), National Library of Medicine (NLM) : Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.
    • Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (VHL) : Offers nurses around the globe free, online access to reliable nursing research and evidence-based knowledge. Includes a Registry of Nursing Research, a database of abstracts to grey literature comprising descriptions of conference presentations and ongoing/unpublished research studies. This content is intended to facilitate collaboration and evidence-based practices in nursing.
  • Associations & Organizations
    • American Nurses Association (ANA) : Includes marketplace, careers & credentialing, professional nursing practice, nursing ethics, health care policy, government affairs, occupational environment, etc.
    • National League for Nursing (NLN) : Professional organization of nurse educators.
    • National Student Nurses Association (ASNA) : Mentors the professional development of future registered nurses and facilitates their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.
    • Nurse.com : Source of local and national nursing news, nursing jobs, nurse continuing education, and the nurse community. Home of Nursing Spectrum and NurseWeek.
    • Utah Nurses Association (UNA) :

      Dental Hygiene

      • General Sites
        • National Center for Dental Hygiene Research (DHNET) : Includes sections on online library & research, grant funding & opportunities, professional education, clinical practice, the informed consumer, and National Center news, as well as links to professional associations, commercial firms, schools & programs, and other resources related to oral/dental health education and research support on the Internet.
      • Associations & Organizations
        • American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA) : Members enjoy professional support, educational programs, and opportunities for participation in association decision making. The mission is to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, and to promote the highest standards of education and practice in the profession.
        • American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) :  Association of dental professionals specializing in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of diseases affecting the gums and supporting structures of the teeth and in the placement and maintenance of dental implants. Site includes selection of clinical and scientific papers, general information, etc.
        • Utah Dental Hygienists' Association (UDHA) : Includes current events, professional resources, UDHA involvement, continuing education, etc.
      • Government Agencies/Sites
        • Oral Health Program (Utah Department of Health) : Promotes oral health education and prevention, increases community awareness of the oral health needs in the state, and improves access to oral health care services. Includes information, programs, state plans, reports, statistics, etc.

      Emergency Medical Services (EMS)

      Medical Radiography

      Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)

      From UofU Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library --

      Surgical Technology

      General Websites

      • PDRhealth: Physicians' Desktop ReferenceFrom the publishers of the Physicians' Desk Reference. Includes information on Drugs & Supplements (Prescription Drugs, Over the Counter (OTC), and Herbals & Supplements), Diseases & Conditions, Clinical Trials, Surgery, and Interactive Tools.
      • Scientific WebPlus (part of ISI Web of Knowledge) : Web of Science > Select a Database (tab) > Scientific WebPlus (bottom right column). A search engine specifically for scientific web content. Get the lay of the land on a research topic quickly. Find hard-to-get scientific information not available elsewhere.
      • Martindale's Health Science Guide : Helpful starting point for students. Contains links to teaching modules, journals, medical dictionaries, calculators, information on medical cases, etc. Includes links to various medical, nursing, and allied health topics.
      • National Library of Medicine (NLM) : Archives and Modern Manuscripts Oral History Collections cover a broad range of topics, people, and institutions from throughout the medical and health sciences. Chiefly from the 1960s to the present, and consist of interviews with physicians, scientists, government administrators, medical librarians, and health-business executives. Content is currently organized into 2 collections and includes digitized transcripts, plus any accompanying audio content by title, interviewee name, and subject. Full-text searching is available.
      • Merck Manuals Online Medical Library : Online version of a series of healthcare book for medical professionals and consumers. Contains photographs and audio & visual material not present in the print versions.
      • Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! : Selected articles marked free made available, plus featured articles and list of articles in the next issue. See webpage for details.
      • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) : The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is the largest philanthropy in the United States devoted exclusively to health and health care. "RWJF has led the field of program evaluation from our inception as a national philanthropy, both in commissioning rigorous evaluations by independent experts and by applying their findings to improve our programs." -- Included is Comparing Health Care Quality: A National Directory that pulls together high-quality information from diverse and dependable sources, and puts more than 220 reports together in a way that allows users to evaluate and compare available health care resources. (from Choice, 12/2011)
      • Safety Lit: Injury Prevention Literature Update : Online source for current and past scholarly research about all aspects of injury prevention (updated weekly). Provides abstracts of English language reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm.
      • WebMD : Provides authoritative, multidimensional health information services to the general public as well as to health professionals.

      Health Management

      • healthfinder.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, etc.) : Award-winning site providing the best government and nonprofit health and human services information from over 1,600 health-related organizations.
      • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) : Comprises the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) and six coordinating centers/offices. Functions as a major dispenser of information related to diseases, emergency preparedness, workplace safety, accidents, the workplace, the environment, and travel.
      • Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2010 (USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion) : The federal government's evidence-based nutritional guidance to promote health, reduce the risk of chronic diseases, and reduce the prevalence of overweight and obesity through improved nutrition and physical activity (from press release, Jan. 31, 2011).
      • DrugWatch: Keeping an Eye on Pharmaceuticals : Consumer health website featuring information about many available medications and drugs and their side effects, drug interactions, FDA alerts, clinical trials, drug lawsuits, etc.
      • Pharmacology Math : Consists of tutorials on units of measurements, calculations, and titrations. Reinforcement activities are available for basic math review, and quizzes provide a way for students to test their knowledge.
      • U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) : Offers in-depth information for both professionals and consumers on food, drugs, medical devices, animal products, cosmetics, etc.
      • World Health Organization (WHO) : Contains detailed health statistics; descriptions of programs and projects; data on risk factors, diseases, and mortality and health status; and international health and travel information.