Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Media Studies: Communication and Media Databases

Off Campus Access

When accessing databases from off campus:

  • Click on the off campus access button next to name of the database.
  • Enter your Dmail username and password. 

 

Quick Tutorials

Article Databases

Communication databases: 
 

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost): Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 301 journals. (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): This multi-disciplinary database offers full-text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals, including more than 1,250 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily. (EBSCO)
 
Sage E-Journals SAGE publishes more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

ComAbstracts (CIOS): The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials. No other electronic resource on the world wide web provides more comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's first line scholarship. (CIOS)

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost):  Provides full text for nearly 3,050 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Updated daily. (EBSCO)

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science):  The Social Sciences Citation Index provides access to thousands of respected scholarly journals, both nationally and internationally.  It provides linking to the full-text, when available. 

Film Databases

We have access to three databases that offer streaming video documentaries.