Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign Languages: American Sign Language

This guide will help find materials in and about Spanish, French, German, Japanese, and American Sign Language.

Databases

Academic Search Premier:
Publications:

American Annals of the Deaf
Remedial and Special Education
Journal of Special Education
Topics in Early Special Education
British Journal of Special Education
Rural Special Education Quarterly
International Journal of Disability, Development and Education
Focus on Exceptional Children

ERIC

JSTOR:
Publications:
67 Titles under the discipline of Education..

American Journal of Education
Child Development

Wilson Education Full Text:
Publications:

Journal of Speech, Language, and  Hearing Research
Multicultural Education
Teacher Education and Special Education

ProjectMUSE:
Publication:

American Annals of the Deaf

Internet Resources

Here are some links for American Sign Language

Subject Encyclopedia

MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders   NetLibrary ebook

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education  ebrary ebook collections

Encyclopedia of Special Education    Reference LC 4007 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Bilingualism
and Bilingual Education
           Reference LC 3707 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
and Birth Defects
                          Reference RB 155.5 .W96 2000

Encyclopedia of Disability     Sage eReference Online

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics   Reference P 29 .E48 1994

Facts about World Languages: An Encyclopedia Reference P 371 .F33 2000

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation  Reference HV 1568 .E53 1995

Dictionaries

American Sign Language
Handshape Dictionary (DVD)
               DiscVideo HV 2475 .T46 2007

American Sign Language
Handshape Dictionary
                Reference HV 2475 .T46 2007

The Gallaudet Dictionary of
American Sign Language (DVD)
                 Circ. Desk 80427

Random House Webster's
American Sign Language Medical Dictionary 
   Reference HV 2475 .663 2000

American Sign Language Dictionary   Reference HV 2475 .S78 1998

American Sign Language:
a comprehensive dictionary
                   Reference HV 2475 .S77 1981

Books

There are 27 books listed under the subject heading of American Sign Language.

Find Books:

Deaf Education Librarian

Linda Jones's picture
Linda Jones
Contact:
Holland Centennial Commons 242
Hours:
7:00 am - 3:30pm M-F
435-879-4243
Skype Contact: linda.jones89