Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Sciences and Humanities: Subject Encyclopedias & E-Books

-- ethics, geography, history, humanities, law, military, philosophy, religion, social_sciences, sociology, social_work

Electronic Subject Encyclopedias

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library : Includes full-text e-books/e-encyclopedias in various subject areas, including history, law, multicultural studies, nation & world, and social sciences. All Gale titles in this database can be searched with one comprehensive search. Full-text.
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium : Includes English and Bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps & illustrations, timelines, encyclopedia, and subject reference. Subject references includes history, law, military history, mythology & folklore, names & places, politics & social sciences, prehistory, religion & philosophy. Full-text.
  • Sage e-Reference Online : Includes encyclopedias and handbooks. Able to search all of the titles at one time, or search by subjects. Subjects include African-American studies; anthropology; counseling & psychotherapy; criminology & criminal justice; family studies; gender & sexuality studies; geography; health & social welfare; history; politics & international relations; psychology; public policy & public administration; research methods & evaluation; science, philosophy & theology; social issues; social work & social policy; sociology; and urban studies & planning. Full-text.
  • Utah History Encyclopedia (1998) : Consists of 575 articles and over 200 historical photographs about individuals, organizations, locations, institutions, and topics important to Utah history.

E-Books

E-books are electronic versions of printed books. They are available through subscription databases (ebrary, netLibrary), the Internet, etc.

  • ebrary : Includes a broad subject range of e-books (approx. 40,000+ titles) that contain Social Sciences topics.
  • EBSCOhost e-Book Collection : Includes a of broad subject range e-books that contain Social Sciences topics. These books have one concurrent user--for instance, when you take a book off the shelf, it is unavailable to others while you use it.
  • Google Books : Over a million public domain books (out of copyright) have been digitized and are available for download through Google Books. Notice that Google Books carries both public domain books and books for purchase.
  • Project Gutenberg : Provides over 33,000 digitized public domain books (out of copyright) free for download.