Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Sciences Databases
- America: History and Life (EBSCOhost) : Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910. Includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Includes abstracts in English for articles published in more than 40 languages. Full-text.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science). Includes data from 1,395+ journals of the world's leading Arts and Humanities journals. Able to identify high-impact, peer-reviewed journals, find relevant results in related fields and emerging trends, and integrate searching. Contains citations and some links to Full-text.
- Cambridge Companions Collection Online (Cambridge) : Includes Cambridge Companions complete collection, Cambridge Companions to literature and classics, Cambridge Companions to philosophy, religion, and culture. Full-text.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) : An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English & Spanish) and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Full-text.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) : A full-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. A repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government, and special reports. Full-text.
- JSTOR : Scholarly journal archive with full-text PDF articles from beginning of publication to a designated moving wall (embargo). Not a current issues database, but (importantly) has backfiles of journals from the beginning of publication. Full-text.
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost) : Includes 2,000+ general interest magazines and other publications. Full-text.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost): Offers current news to all branches of the military and government. Includes indexing/abstracts for over 400 titles and full-text coverage for over 300 titles. Some Full-text.
- Project MUSE : Contains heavily-indexed, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal titles for 400+ titles and 100+ not-for-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences. Contains complete content--including charts, graphs, and images--for every issue. Is sole source of complete full-text versions of titles published by leading university presses and scholarly societies. Contains no embargos on journal content. Full-text.
- Sage Journals Online : Includes journals published by Sage, with additional journals published by learned societies and institutions.
- Salem History (Salem Press) : Includes Milestone Documents in American History, 1950s-1980s Decades in America, and Historical Encyclopedia of American Business.
- Social Science Citation Index (part of ISI Web of Knowledge). A social science citation index with no Full-text, but links out to Some Full-text.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier): Contains over 25% of the world's physical science & engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences & humanities, with full-text and bibliographic information. Offers a journal collection of 2,500+ titles, with over 9,034,799 articles. Full-text.
- Web of Science (part of ISI Web of Knowledge) : Includes 2003-present. Explores top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder. Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.