Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Sciences and Humanities: Internet Resources

-- ethics, geography, history, humanities, law, military, philosophy, religion, social_sciences, sociology, social_work

Occupational

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) : Includes nature of work, training, employment, job outlook, projection data, earnings, OES data, related occupations, etc.
  • O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network) : Replaced Dictionary of Occupational Titles. Categorizes occupational qualifications and characteristics, and includes Occupational Outlook Handbook. 
  • USAJobs : Serves as the official listing for vacancies within the federal government. Users can search by job type and/or location, create an account, store resumes, and learn about the federal hiring process. Also details the hiring process for disabled, minority, and veteran workers.
  • Look at the various professional Websites.

Statistics / Surveys

  • General Social Survey (GSS) : Contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as a replication of earlier findings.
  • National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) (National Archive of Criminal Justice Data) : Provides data on licit and illicit drug use; tracks trends in alcohol, tobacco, and various types of drugs; assesses consequences of drug use and abuse; and identifies groups with a high risk of drug abuse.
  • NCEE : National Center on Education and the Economy. The National Center on Education and the Economy (NCEE) is the leading U.S. organization studying high-performing education systems and their implications for dramatically improving American education.
  • OECD : Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau) : The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Although emphasis is primarily given to national data, many tables present data for regions and individual states and a smaller number for metropolitan areas and cities. Data ranges from the most recent edition to the historical bastracts compiled throughout the decades.
  • Statista : Crucial information regarding the status quo and development of countries and regions including key economic indicators like GDP, national finance, demographics and trade figures as well as major industry players.
  • U.S. Government Data by Agency : Almost all agencies of the United States Government provide access to related data at their agency websites. Google search the agency and search the website by searching for "data" or "statistics."
  • World Bank : The World Bank Group works in every major area of development. We provide a wide array of financial products and technical assistance, and we help countries share and apply innovative knowledge and solutions to the challenges they face.

Electronic Resources on the Internet

Internet Archive : A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. Contains moving images (614,657 movies), live music archive (98,246 concerts), audio (1,160,727 recordings), and texts (3,231,354).--2/15/12

Making of America : A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Currently contains approx. 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.--2/15/12