Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Resource Guide: Audio Databases

This guide will help find Music resources.

Audio Music Databases

 NEW!!!  Music  Databases:..JAZZ MUSIC LIBRARY, and NAXOS JAZZ LIBRARY.

 MUSIC ONLINE: Available from Alexander Street Press, this collection includes the following databases:

 African American Song  African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.

 American Song  American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 1,063 albums, equalling 18,194 tracks, growing regularly.

 Classical Music Library  Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive collection of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music through their headphones

Contemporary World Music  Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This release includes 1,082 albums, equalling 14,235 tracks, growing regularly.

Jazz Music Library

Smithsonian Global Sound

OTHER MUSIC DATABASES:

NAXOS Music Library  NAXOS Music Library contains over 32,000 discs and 460,000 tracks from many genres and covering historical as well as contemporary artists and compositions.

NAXOS Jazz Library

Opera in Video  Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. This release includes 42 videos, equalling 84 hours.