Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Resource Guide: Music Reference Sources

This guide will help find Music resources.

Musical Scores Databases

Classical Scores Library: Alexander Street Press presents a database of scores.

Library Music Source: A large collection of WEstern Classical sheet music. Over 300,00 pages of sheet music.

Other Online Reference Sources

ebrary: ebrary is a growing e-book collection spanning all academic subject areas. There are over 35,000 titles.  One of the advantages of using ebrary is that you can search Full Text

Gale Virtual Reference:There are four encyclopedias that reference Music.

Sage e-Reference : Online encyclopedias available on various subjects. 

Music Reference Sources Online

The following databases contain Music Reference Sources:

African American Music Reference: African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This release includes 3,323 essays and images from 84 sources, over 23,603 pages.

Classical Music Reference Library:Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles: Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form. This release includes 26,858 essays and images from 26 sources, over 17,147 pages

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,208 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century: Under Salem History: If you would like to browse ONLY the 614 entries in the Musicians and Composers's five volume set, go to advanced search: Choose "Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century" in the FROM box.  Click search (you don't need to enter any other search terms; this will produce a browse result, beginning with Will Ackerman, and ending with Hans Zimmer).  Additionally, there is a substantial General Bibliography, a large Glossary, a chronological list of entries in this title (beginning with Leos Janacek and ending with 50 Cent), as well as a list of general electronic resources for additional information.

Oxford Music Online:home of Grove Music Online and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products such as  Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music,  Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion. Grove Music Online includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd editon, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition.

 

Reference Shelves

Here are some selected Reference books for you to use. You will find these and many others in the library Reference section AND in the main book stacks.