Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical and Life Science Resource Guide: Abstracted Bibliography for Life Sciences

Includes research resources for the areas of anatomy, astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, mechanical engineering, and geology.

Welcome to the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment

If you are in a life science course and have been assigned the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment, this website is where you will find information to help you complete the assignment.

Under normal circumstances, mandatory attendance at the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment Workshop is required for this assignment. You are required to attend a 45-minute active learning workshop that will enable you to complete the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment.

PLEASE NOTE: During the COVID-19 pandemic, videos are posted below for the Spring Semester 2021 and may be used instead of the mandatory workshop. During Spring Semester 2021, registration and attendance at the mandatory workshop are not required as the videos are provided for use instead.

 

 

To register for the workshop, click here.

Once you have clicked the link above, find on the calendar a date and time that works for you and click on the registration button.

All workshops are held in various locations on campus.

Details are found on the calendar when you register including location.

You must register and attend one workshop as a large portion of your grade is allocated to attendance at the workshop whereby you cannot pass the assignment without attending.

Assessment Survey

In order to get credit for attending the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment Workshop, you must complete a short survey at the end.

Please fill out the following 3-minute assessment survey as your ticket out the door:

https://forms.gle/H9EwU6x2FvXyriRM7

Sample/Example of the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment

Click the PDF link below for an example of the abstracted bibliography assignment assigned in your life sciences course.

Scientific Style and Format for Crafting Your Citations

Click here to go to the online style guide for the CSE (Council of Science Editors) scientific style and format. This citation style has two formats. You will be using the name-year format.

How to Abbreviate Journal Titles

Click here for a guide that will help you with abbreviating journal titles.

Alternatively, click here for a different guide that will help you with abbreviating journal titles.

How to Craft Your Abstracts

What is an abstracted bibliography?

A bibliography is simply a list of source material. It would include any books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, periodicals, web sites, etc. you have used in your research on a particular topic.

An abstract is a summary of source material you have used in your research on a particular topic.

Writing an excellent abstract is a valuable and necessary skill to develop. It takes practice and that is one reason the abstracted bibliography assignment is required so that you can gain practice developing this essential and critical skill.

When you craft your abstract you will need to be succinct, clear, focused, concise and thrifty with your words. Furthermore, your abstract must effectively summarize the content of the source highlighting main arguments, points, and ideas.

Videos

Due to the campus response to COVID-19, I have created videos for use instead of attendance at the workshops. Please watch in order and feel free to repeat using the links in the boxes below.

Video 2

Subject Guide

John Burns's picture
John Burns
Contact:
Holland Building 243