Criminal Justice: Subject Encyclopedias & E-Books

Library Reference Resources/Titles using electronic resources: Access databases through Library Home Page > Article Databases > Alphabetical List. However, many titles are also listed independently in the Library's Online Catalog. On-campus, click on title ; Off-campus, use your Dixie Log-In.

• Gale Virtual Reference Library : Under subject "Criminal Justice," are full-text e-books/e-encyclopedias for various Criminal Justice topics. All the Gale e-encyclopedias can be searched with one comprehensive search.

• Oxford Reference Online Premium : Contains English and bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps & illustrations, timelines, encyclopedias in varied subjects, including various Criminal Justice topics.
  

• Sage e-Reference Encyclopedias and Handbooks. (See column to the right.)
  

• ebrary : Database of e-books with a broad subject range (approx. 40,000+ titles) that includes various Criminal Justice topics.

• EBSCOhost E-Book Collection : Individual titles of broad subject range e-books that include various Criminal Justice topics. These books have one concurrent user. For instance, when you take a book off the "shelf," it is unavailable to others while you use it.

• Safari Books Online : Includes IT information, technology, security books from O'Reilly, Pearson, Cisco Press, etc.
  

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS and HANDBOOKS -- in PRINT and/or ONLINE.

To locate electronic subject encyclopedias, use one of these 3 ways:

• look up the e-encyclopedia title in Library's Online Catalog; OR,  
• Library > Books & More > Encyclopedias (search by subjects--"Criminal Justice," ; or, go through the entire list of encyclopedias), OR,
  
• Library > Article Databases > Alphabetical List (look under database name, i.e., Sage e-reference database, or Gale Virtual Reference Shelf database).

Sage e-Reference Encyclopedias and Handbooks  : All of the Sage encyclopedias and handbooks can be searched at one time (concurrently). Examples are listed below.

• Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
  
• Encyclopedia of Terrorism
  
• Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
  
• Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
  
• Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education
  
• Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
  
• Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives
  
• Encyclopedia of Murder & Violent Crime
  
• Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities
  
• Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law
  
• Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
  
• Encyclopedia of White Collar & Corporate Crime
  

• 21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook
  
• Handbook of Transnational Crime & Justice
  
• Handbook of Workplace Violence
  

Encyclopedias in Print :

• Encyclopedia of American Crime (REF  HV 6789 .S54 2001).
• Encyclopedia of American Prisons (REF  HV 9471 .E425 1996).
• Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice (REF  HV 6017 .E52 2002).
  
• Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation (REF  HV 8073 .N49 2008).
  
• Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System: Studies of the Principal Institutions and Processes of Law (KF 154 .E53 1987).
  

• The Fingerprint Sourcebook -- Definitive guide to the science of fingerprint identification. The Sourcebook will be printed in stages. Select a link to view available chapters.
• Topical Collection: Computer Forensic Tool Testing -- Lists online full-text publications from the National Institute of Justice for Computer Forensic Tool Testing. There are other topical collections and publications of interest at the NIJ site.