Criminal Justice: Internet Resources

• Government Sites / Agencies 
• Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section (CCIPS -- DOJ) : Implements DOJ national strategies in combating computer and intellectual property crimes worldwide. The Computer Crime Initiative is a comprehensive program designed to combat electronic penetrations, data thefts, and cyberattacks on critical information systems.CCIPS prevents, investigates, and prosecutes computer crimes by working with other government agencies, the private sector, academic institutions, and foreign counterparts.Responsibilities include computer crime, intellectual property, electronic evidence, other high tech legal issues.
• CrimeSolutions.gov (OJP--Office of Justice Programs) : Resource to help practitioners and policymakers understand what works in justice related programs and practices. Provides reliable research and real results. Uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.
• IACP Center for Social Media : BJA and the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) have launched the IACP Center for Social Media. This project is designed to build the capacity of law enforcement to use social media and related tools to prevent and solve crimes, strengthen police-community relations, recruit employees, and enhance services. (BJ)
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) : A federally-funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. -- Includes a "Justice Information" (JUSTINFO) newsletter published the 1st and 15th of each month and contains information from the NCJRS sponsoring agencies (announcements, funding opportunities, publications, online resources, conferences & training opportunities)
• National Institute of Corrections (NIC -- DOJ) : An agency within the U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. Provides training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies.
• National Institute of Justice (Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Dept. of Justice) : Research, development, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Dept. of Justice. Provides objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the state and local levels.
• National Institute of Justice (NIJ), Director's Corner : Follow Dr. Laub during his time as NIJ Director through his speeches, commentary, and publications, as well as other NIJ related content.
• Office of Justice Programs (OJP) : Provides innovative leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the-art knowledge and practices across America. Topics include: American Indian & Alaska Native Affairs ; corrections ; courts ; juvenile justice ; law enforcement, research, statistics & evaluation ; substance abuse & crime ; technology to fight crime ; and victims of crime.
  
• Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) : Provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization
• Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) : Includes news & features, current resources for crime victim service providers (terrorism/mass violence, human trafficking, computer/Internet crimes, American Indians/Alaska Natives, campus crime, fraud/identity theft, crime victims with disabilities, child/domestic/family violence, victim/witness assistance, victim compensation, etc.), tools, etc
• Utah Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) : Includes information for prospective officers, inservice & investigations, the Academy, Satellite Academies, e-learning portal, and publications & forms.
  
  
• Associations & Organizations
  • National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA) : Represents state, tribal, and local governments on crime prevention and crime control issues. Works to promote a balanced approach to communities' complex public safety and criminal and juvenile justice system problems. Through collaboration with practitioners and policy makers, communicates state, tribal, and local views, needs, and accomplishments on crime prevention and control to Congress, federal executive, and other public and private agencies at all levels.
    
    
• Statistical Sources
• Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) : Includes detailed descriptions of criminal justice topics, data collections, and terms used in their analysis provide crucial context for the data. Includes tutorials and other helpful resources. Includes website for Criminal Victimization. To keep current with these statistics, subscribe to JUSTSTATS on this webpage.
• The Campus Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool (Postsecondary Eduction of the U. S. Department of Education) : Designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquirire relating to campus crime data. Crime statistics are submitted annually by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those participating in federal student aid programs) as required by the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act.
• Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC). The FJSRC maintains the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) database, which contains information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
• National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) : Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources through the production of original research based on archived data. Identifies appropriate criminological and criminal justice data collections on specific topics. Housed by the University of Michigan.
• Sourcebook for Criminal Justice Statistics (Bureau of Justice Statistics) : Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
• Statistical Abstract of the United States : The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
• State and Metropolitan Area Data Book : Features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources. Covers crime statistics. Online and PDF versions of previous editions are available, with separate updates.
• Uniform Crime Reports (Federal Bureau of Investigation) : In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation.
   
• Occupations
  
• Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) : Includes nature of work, training, employment, job outlook, projection data, earnings, OES data, related occupations, etc.
• O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network) : Replaced Dictionary of Occupational Titles. Categorizes occupational qualifications and characteristics, and includes Occupational Outlook Handbook.
• USAJobs : Serves as the official listing for vacancies within the federal government. Users can search by job type and/or location, create an account, store resumes, and learn about the federal hiring process. Also details the hiring process for disabled, minority, and veteran workers.
• CriminalJusticePrograms.com  
• Look at the various professional Websites

• The Crime Report (The John Jay Center on Media, Crime and Justice) : News and multimedia information and networking resource for the changing contemporary world of crime and justice.
• The Public Library of Law. The largest free law library in the world. Assembles law-available-for-free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web.
• Justice Today (newsletter) : Newsletter by the Bureau of Justice Assistance. This web page also has a link to the BJA Network that includes the BJA Podcasts and Director's Notes. You may subscribe to these offerings.
• Public Records Free Directory : Includes public records, criminal records, property records, arrest records, and court records. Provides thousands of links to free public record searches in every state and county in the United States, although some state or county agencies may charge fees for accessing their public records. All links indicate whether online public record searches are available for free, as paid services, or not available online.

• Anti-Human Trafficking Task Force Strategy and Operations e-Guide (from OVCTTAC) : Developed by the Office for Victims of Crime and the Bureau of Justice assistance, this e-learning tool provides: direction and development; creative ideas, strategies examples, and lessons; and links to tools, training, and resources.
• Department of Justice YouTube Channel (DOJ) : An open, un-moderated forum to increase government transparency, promote public participation, and encourage collaboration with DOJ.
• CrimeSolutions.gov (OJP : Office of Justice Programs) : Uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. You will find research on program effectiveness reviewed and rated ; easily understandable ratings based on the evidence that indicates whether the program achieves its goals ; and key program information and research findings. This website is not an exhaustive list of all justice-related programs, and a program's inclusion on this site does not constitute an endorsement by the U.S. Dept. of Justice.
  

• BJA's Justice Today (Bureau of Justice Assistance) : BJA supports law enforcement, courts, corrections, treatment, victim services, technology and prevention initiatives that strengthen the nation's criminal justice system.
• Justice Resource Update : Advancing the Field of Criminal Justice (OJP) : Designed to help criminal justice practitioners stay informed and better serve their constituents by providing valuable information about federal resources, advancements in the field, and training opportunities.
• OJJDP News @ a Glance (DOJ) : Online newsletter from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Contains special features, news in brief, new publications, etc.
  
• ONDCP Update : Newsletter of the Office of National Drug Control Policy. Seeks to foster healthy individuals and safe communities by effectively leading the Nation's effort to reduce drug use and its consequences.
• NIJ Journal (National Institute of Justice) : Published several times per year, features articles to help criminal justice policymakers stay informed about new developments. Presents research-based information that can help inform policy decisions and improve understanding of the criminal justice system. 
  

The Fingerprint Sourcebook (National Institute of Justice ; NCJ 225320, 422 pp.). Definitive guide to the science of fingerprint identification. Chapters include topics such as the anatomy and physiology of adult friction ridge skin, systems of friction ridge classification, latent print development, and the examination process.

National Standards to Prevent, Detect, and Respond to Prison Rape, final rule. Standards protect adults/juvenile offenders in prisons, jails, and lockups at the federal, state, and local levels in accordance with the Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003. (PREA) (OJP)

"Test Results for Mobile Device Acquisition Tool: Secure View 2.1.0" (NCJ 232225, 216 pp.) reports the results from testing Secure View version 2.1.0 against the "Smart Phone Tool Test Assertions and Test Plan." The results provide information necessary for developers to improve tools, users to make informed choices, and the legal community and others to understand the tools' capabilities. (NIJ)

"Test Results for Mobile Device Acquisition Tool: WinMoFo Version 2.2.38791" (NCJ 232224, 57 pp.) reports the results from testing WinMoFo version 2.2.38791 against the "Smart Phone Tool Test Assertions and Test Plan." The results provide information necessary for developers to improve tools, users to make informed choices, and the legal community and others to understand the tools' capabilities. (NIJ)

"Federal Justice Statistics, 2008 - Statistical Tables" (NCJ 231822) describes criminal case processing in the federal justice system, including arrest and booking through sentencing and corrections. (BJS)  Publication date Nov. 3, 2010.

TechBeat. The National Law Enforcement and Corrections Technology Center announces its first interactive issue of TechBeat. This issue includes articles on body armor, GPS devices, officer-worn cameras, electronic crime, and mapping of parole caseloads. (NIJ)