It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's and Young Adult Literature: Encyclopedias/Reference
Topics covered include: the history and development of children's literature various theoretical approaches used to explore the texts, including narratological methods questions of gender and sexuality along with issues of race and ethnicity realism and fantasy as two prevailing modes of story-telling picture books, comics and graphic novels as well as 'young adult' fiction and the 'crossover' novel media adaptations and neglected areas of children's literature.
The Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature relates the history of children's literature through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, books, and genres.
Provides brief biographies of more than 300 authors and illustrators, as well as essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, including general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
For off-campus access (username and password required), go to www.library.dixie.edu, Article Databases > Alphabetical > Oxford Digital Reference Shelf, and click the blue off-campus access button.
Here are some selected Reference books for you to use.
Rainbow Family Collections by Jamie Campbell Naidoo
Call Number: Z 1037 .N24 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-13
This book examines and suggests picture books and chapter books presenting LGBTQ content to children under the age of 12--it's one of the only available resources to provide this important information
Women Writers of Children's Literature by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 W663 2000
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Louisa May Alcott -- Frances Hodgson Burnett -- Louise Fitzhugh -- Kate Greenaway -- Ursula K. Le Guin -- Madeleine L'Engle -- Lucy Maud Montgomery -- Edith Nesbit -- Katherine Paterson -- Beatrix Potter -- P. L. Travers -- Laura Ingalls Wilder.
Great Authors of Children's Literature by Wendy Mass
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 M377 2000
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Profiles the lives and innovative work of the following popular authors: A. A. Milne, C. S. Lewis, E.B. White, Dr. Seuss, Roald Dahl, Maurice Sendak, and Judy Blume.
The Big Book of Picture-Book Authors and Illustrators by James Preller
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 P745 2001
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Brief biographies provide insight into the lives, work, inspiration and creative process of 75 favorite childrens authors and illustrators.
An Annotated Bibliography of Multi-Cultural Literature for Children Three to Ten Years by Guda Gayle-Evans
Call Number: PN 1009.A1 G395 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English by Victor Watson (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 C36 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-27
Best Books for Children by John T. Gillespie; Catherine Barr
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 B547 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-28
Literature -- Biography -- History and geography -- Social institutions and issues -- Personal development -- Physical and applied sciences -- Recreation -- Author and illustrator index -- Title index -- Subject/grade level index.