Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Catalogs / Reviews

HELP sheets

When you are using a new database, do check any HELP link.  Often there are tutorials or help sheets that will be useful in your searches. 

Because databases change their formats or services from time to time, HELP may be needed even if you have previously used the database.

 

How to find full-text Articles

If an article is not full-text in the database you are searching follow these steps to retrieve the article:

  1. Check Full-Text Periodicals List for full-text coverage.
    HINT: Search PERIODICAL title, not ARTICLE title
  2. If not found, use Interlibrary Loan for ordering articles.

Catalogs of Children's Books


DSU Library Catalog:  Search the print, e-book, audio, and video collections of the Dixie State University Library.  To search the library for juvenile books, go to the Library Home Page and select "Catalog"; then select "Power" from the red "Search" bar. Under the Power Search, you can search by keyword, title, author, subject, etc., but you can also, under "Limits", search only the Juvenile Collection by highlighting "Juvenile". Newbery and Caldecott Award winners can be found by searching either newbery or caldecott or adding those terms to another search.
Example: caldecott and juvenile

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database: It is the mission of the Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database Company to provide reliable one search access to all important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media. (CLCD).

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature: Award-winning books searchable by keyword, reading level, genre, language, historical period, gender, or ethnicity.

Children's Picture Book Database: Abstracts of over 5,000 children's picture books and search capabilities for over 950 keywords, including topics, concepts, and skills which describe each book.

Interlibrary Loan:  Books not held by the Dixie State University Library may be requested through the Interlibrary Loan system. There is a 7-10 day delivery time.

Reviews

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD): Includes more than 1,400,000 records of children's books and more than 300,000 reviews of children's books from 36 sources - all full-text searchable. Includes awards won, links to author Web sites, and reading levels. Excellent subject access to books.
Example: Russell Freedman

For off-campus access (username and password required), go to www.library.dixie.edu > Article Databases > Alphabetical List > Children's Literature Comprehensive Database.

Professional Development Collection: Reviews, articles, and more in this database for teachers. Not always full-text (see below to find full-text of useful articles). Combine with other EBSCOhost databases Academic Search Elite and MasterFILE Premier for best results.
Example: "Jerry Spinelli"

For off-campus access (dmail username and password required), go to www.library.dixie.edu > Article Databases > Alphabetical List > Professional Development Collection.

Education LIbrarian

Dianne Aldrich's picture
Dianne Aldrich
Contact:
Holland Centennial Commons, Office 245
435-652-7720
Skype Contact: Dianne3895