Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Art and Art Education: Journal Articles

This guide will help find resources with an art or art education emphasis

Selected journals

Penfield, E. (1894). Harper's May. The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection, New York, NY. Retrieved from ARTstor.

How to find an article

Finding journals

Articles are found by searching library databases. Understanding these databases will allow you to more easily use any database.

To access the DSU library databases, you need to first go to the library home page, your gateway for academic research. From the Library Home Page (http://library.dixie.edu/), select Article Databases

The library databases allow searching multiple periodicals at one time and often include the full-text of articles. Even though the library’s article databases are accessible through the Internet, they are not freely available. These are licensed databases meaning that each library pays for a specific number of users based on its population group (number of students for an academic library or number of residents for a public library).

 To access the DSU databases from the library home page, select Article Databases  

 

The Subject List divides the specialized databases by the discipline most likely to use them. If after you’ve searched the General / Multi-Subject databases and still want to look for more information on a art topic, for example, you might look in the databases that focus specifically on art. 

 

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art)

Another tool for finding articles is the BHA or Bibliography of the History of Art. The BHA is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. This is a free resource from the Getty Instiitute offering both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. Remember that, unlike other fee-based subscription databases available through the LCC Library, BHA is not full-text. If you find citations for articles on BHA, then you can Interlibrary Loan a copy of the article. If you are still having trouble, stop by the Reference desk and we can help you track down the article you are seeking.

To search BHA, please visit, http://library.getty.edu/bha. Note that the database search includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009.