Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Art and Art Education: Web Resources

This guide will help find resources with an art or art education emphasis

Web sites for Art and Art History

There are excellent web resources for art and art history research and study. Many national museums and libraries have online collections, so you will find other relevant resources by searching the Internet for museums in specific countries. The resources linked below were chosen specifically for excellent visual content, but include only resources in English.

Evaluating web resources

It is not always easy to determine if information on the World Wide Web is credible. Here at Dixie State University we use the CARS guidelines which were developed by Robert Harris.

 

Credibility
trustworthy source, author’s credentials, evidence of quality control, known or respected authority, organizational support.

Goal: an authoritative source, a source that supplies some good evidence that allows you to trust it.
Accuracy
up to date, factual, detailed, exact, comprehensive, audience and purpose reflect intentions of completeness and accuracy.

Goal: a source that is correct today (not yesterday), a source that gives the whole truth.
Reasonableness
fair, balanced, objective, reasoned, no conflict of interest, absence of fallacies or slanted tone.

Goal: a source that engages the subject thoughtfully and reasonably, concerned with the truth.
Support
listed sources, contact information, available corroboration, claims supported, documentation supplied.

Goal: a source that provides convincing evidence for the claims made, a source you can triangulate (find at least two other sources that support it). 


Harris, Robert. "Evaluating Internet Research Sources." VirtualSalt. 22 Nov. 2010. Web. 22 June 2011.

Online Encyclopedias

Reference online

Here are some excellent online reference resources you can access from the Dixie State University Library Article Database page.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 4600 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.

Art Full Text (WilsonWeb)
Full text coverage from the Wilson database of periodicals and journals of articles on art, architecture and archaeology throughout the world.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Citation index that provides consolidated searching of a social science citation index, art and humanities citation index and multi disciplinary databases—may be searched by author, title, subject, and topic. These are citations of usage, not full text and will be useful primarily to upper division students and faculty doing research.

ARTstor
Curated collections of art images and associated data for scholarly use. Includes links to art images in museum collections and reference materials.

JSTOR
A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost) 
        Multidisciplinary database designed for public libraries that covers virtually every subject area of general interest.
        Provides the full text of nearly 500 books, 164,400 primary source documents, and 1,700 other general reference
        
publications as well as a large image collection of photos, maps and flags.

Oxford Art Online 
      This database includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, links to Images from ARTstor.

Project MUSE 
      Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.