Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content

Art and Art Education: Citing Sources

This guide will help find resources with an art or art education emphasis

Examples

How to cite Photos in MLA format:

Online Photographs.

Photographer's Last name, First name . Title of work. Date of composition (if unknown use n.d.). Museum or collection, (if unknown then use Private Collection without city). City of collection or museum. Name of database or Web site. Web. Date of access.

Examples:

Hoflehner, Josef. Liquid Wall. N.d. Private Collection. Photographer's Gallery. Web. 25 Mar. 2010.

Adams, Ansel. Monolith: The Face of Half Dome. 1927. Collection of George Eastman House, Rochester. ARTstor. Web. 25 June 2009.

______________________________________________________

How to cite Photos in APA format

Online Photographs

Photographer's Last name, First initial. (Date of composition (if unknown use n.d.)). Title of work. Museum or collection, City of collection or museum. Retrieved Date of access, from complete URL of website

Photographer's Last name, First initial. Date of composition (if unknown use n.d.)). Title of work. Museum or collection, City of collection or museum. Retrieved from home URL of database

Examples:

Hoflehner, J. (n.d.). Liquid Wall. Retrieved March 25, 2010, from http://www.photographersgallery.com/photo.asp?id=4421

Adams, A. (1927). Monolith: The Face of Half Dome. Collection of George Eastman House, Rochester, NY. Retrieved from http://library.artstor.org/library/welcome.html

Online Citation Help

Binding Books

Hine, Lewis W. Binding Books in the Modern Machine Way. 1910-1938. George Eastman House, Rochester. ARTstor. Web. 20 June 2011.