Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance: Reference Resources

This guide will direct you to many resources to use for the dance enthusiast.

Encyclopedias in print collection

Here are some excellent reference books in the Dixie State University Library collection.

Online Encyclopedias

Video Database

This is a video database in which you can watch various dances.

Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press) 
   Streaming videos of 20th century dance performances & documentaries on dance and dance training. Limited to 3 concurrent users.

Reference online

Here are some excellent online reference resources you can access from the Dixie State College Library Article Database page.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 4600 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.

Art Full Text (WilsonWeb)
Full text coverage from the Wilson database of periodicals and journals of articles on art, architecture and archaeology throughout the world.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Citation index that provides consolidated searching of a social science citation index, art and humanities citation index and multi disciplinary databases—may be searched by author, title, subject, and topic. These are citations of usage, not full text and will be useful primarily to upper division students and faculty doing research.

JSTOR
A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost) 
Multidisciplinary database designed for public libraries that covers virtually every subject area of general interest. Provides the full text of nearly 500 books, 164,400 primary source documents, and 1,700 other general reference publications as well as a large image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Project MUSE 
Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest Newsstand 
Full-text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as the New York Times and the Village Voice, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) 
Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects. Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines.