Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dental Hygiene: Online Resources

A guide designed to support the research of both faculty and students in the Dental Hygiene department at Dixie State University.

Article Database Spotlight

If accessing online electronic resources from home/off-campus use your Dixie log-in (your username and password).

 

PubMed: A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 21 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes how-to tutorial.

 ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source 

This database makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. Provides full-text journals, evidence-based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences. Competency and Training Resources section includes (1) Cultural Competency Briefs: Religion, Ethnicity, and Care; and (2) Medcom Video Training Programs Clips

CINAHL and CINAHL with Full Text  (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCOhost) : The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health. Indexing/abstracting for 2,928+ current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1981, totaling 1,000,000+ records. Includes Pre-CINAHL that provides limited bibliographic information on health science articles in the indexing process, with no subject searching and no full-text. Pre-CINAHL is a preview of citation and abstracts that will appear in the CINAHL database.

 

E-books

E-books can be accessed either through the online library catalog or directly through the database link.  

  • ebrary (ProQuest Ebooks) :  Includes a very broad subject range of e-books (approx. 50,000+ titles) that contains Nursing/Dental Hygiene/Allied Health topics.
  • EBSCOhost Ebook Collection :  Includes a very broad subject range of e-books (approx. 50,000+ titles) that contains Nursing/Dental Hygiene/Allied Health topics. 
  • R2 Digital Library : Provides a selection of ebooks focused on the health sciences. Limited to three concurrent users.

   

Tutorials / Quick Guides

NOTE:  To maximize use and efficiency of databases, set up your preferences, bookshelves, folders, bookmarks, etc.

ebrary Demo: (11:36 min.). ebrary contains a wide variety of e-books that includes Nursing/Dental Hygiene/Allied Health.

PubMed Tutorial: Based on NLM's one-day PubMed Training Course.

 

Google Scholar Search Box

Google Scholar Search