Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dental Hygiene: Databases

A guide designed to support the research of both faculty and students in the Dental Hygiene department at Dixie State University.

E-Book Collections

Additional Article Databases

Health Sciences Databases (in alphabetical order, and accessed by one of the 3 choices below)

  1. Library Webpage > Article Databases > Subject > Medicine & Health;
  2. Library Webpage > Article Databases > Alphabetical List;
  3. Click on hot links below and you will be taken to the Alphabetical List.

 

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): A very large scholarly, multi-disciplinary database; with full text coverage of 4600+ journals in a broad range of subjects. This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search; however, the coverage is also very good for Nursing/Dental Hygiene/Allied Health topics.

 

  • Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCOhost) : Focuses on complementary, alternative, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides full-text for 180+ international journals and reports (often peer-reviewed), some as far back as 1984, and full-text back to 1990. Also includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts. Full-text.

 

  • Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (EBSCOhost) : Designed for doctors, research scientist, students, clinical specialists, and managers. Provides full-text for 100+ journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles are indexed in MEDLINE. Full-text.   

 

  • CINAHL and CINAHL with Full Text  (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCOhost) : The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health. Indexing/abstracting for 2,928+ current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1981, totaling 1,000,000+ records. Includes Pre-CINAHL that provides limited bibliographic information on health science articles in the indexing process, with no subject searching and no full-text. Pre-CINAHL is a preview of citation and abstracts that will appear in the CINAHL database.

 

  •  MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) : Provides authoritative medical indexing on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Searches citations from 4,800+ current biomedical journals.

 

 

  • PubMed: A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 21 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes how-to tutorial.

 

  • ScienceDirect (Elsevier) : Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Offers a journal collection of over 2,500 titles, with 9,034,799 articles. Full-text.    

  

  • Web of Science (part of ISI Web of Knowledge) : Explores top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder. 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar : (Google > More [top bar, right] > Google Scholar) : A freely accessible Web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online journals of Europe and America's largest scholarly publishers. It is similar in function to the freely available Scirus from Elsevier, CiteSeerX, and getCITED. Because most of Google Scholar's search results link directly to commercial journal articles, a majority of the time users will only be able to access a brief summary of the articles topics, as well as small amounts of important information regarding the article, and possibly have to pay a fee to access the entire article.  Through its "cited by" feature, Google Scholar provides access to abstracts of articles that have cited the article being viewed.--from Wikipedia