Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dental Hygiene: Internet Resources

A guide designed to support the research of both faculty and students in the Dental Hygiene department at Dixie State University.

Occupations

Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics) : For the covered occupations, this handbook lists: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions. In addition, the handbook gives job search tips and links to information about the job market in each state.

Merck Manual

The Merck Manual Online :  The Merck Manual Online includes a series of online healthcare books for healthcare professionals and consumers. Receives updates periodically with new information to insure that the information is as up-to-date as possible. Contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions. Includes cardiovascular; clinical; critical care; dental; dermatologic; ear, nose & throat; endocrine & metabolic; eye; gastrointestinal; and genitourinary; as well as ready reference guides, trade names for some commonly used drugs, multimedia, and related links.

Dental Hygiene

  • General Sites
    • National Center for Dental Hygiene Research (DHNET) : Includes sections on online library & research, grant funding & opportunities, professional education, clinical practice, the informed consumer, and National Center news, as well as links to professional associations, commercial firms, schools & programs, and other resources related to oral/dental health education and research support on the Internet.
  • Associations & Organizations
    • American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA) : Members enjoy professional support, educational programs, and opportunities for participation in association decision making. The mission is to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, and to promote the highest standards of education and practice in the profession.
    • American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) :  Association of dental professionals specializing in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of diseases affecting the gums and supporting structures of the teeth and in the placement and maintenance of dental implants. Site includes selection of clinical and scientific papers, general information, etc.
    • Utah Dental Hygienists' Association (UDHA) : Includes current events, professional resources, UDHA involvement, continuing education, etc.
  • Government Agencies/Sites
    • Oral Health Program (Utah Department of Health) : Promotes oral health education and prevention, increases community awareness of the oral health needs in the state, and improves access to oral health care services. Includes information, programs, state plans, reports, statistics, etc.

Statistical Resources

  • IBIS-PH : State of Utah's, Department of Health, Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health (IBIS-PH). This site provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system.
  • The Cochrane Collaboration :an international, independent, not-for-profit organization of over 27,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide. Produces systematic assessments of healthcare interventions, known as Cochrane Reviews, which are published online in the Cochrane Library (subscription based). For DSU, includes summaries of articles only, not the full-text. Also includes Cochrane in the News, events, links, etc. 
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) : The federal lead agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of healthcare for Americans. Includes clinical information, consumers & patients, funding opportunities, data & surveys, research findings, priority populations, quality and patient safety, health IT, and public health preparedness, as well as, news & events, publications, and comparative effectiveness. For DSU, includes summaries of articles only, not the full-text. Order the full-text of articles through Interlibrary Loan.
  • National Center for Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, CDC) : Produces data concerning the health, mortality, disability, nutrition, and health expenditures of the United States. Titles such as Vital Statistics of the United States (detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage, and divorce), Health (annual report on trends in health statistics), United States (annual report on trends in health statistics), and Healthy People 2010 (challenges individuals, communities, and professionals to take specific steps to ensure that good health and long life are enjoyed by all) are available through this website.
  • CDC Wonder (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) : Utilizes an ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are available.