Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patents and Trademarks: Web Resources

This guide features patent and trademark resources and services.

Other Web Resources

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

US Patent and Trademark Office Home Page

USPTO's Web-based Searchable Patent Databases

Display of text and images for all U.S. patents from 1790 to the present.  All published U.S. patent applications from 2001 to the present.  Patents from 1976 to the present and all applications are fully text-searchable.  Full-text and images of all U.S. patents and applications may now be downloaded as Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) files.  The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is available here.

Other International Patent-Issuing Offices

Japanese Patent Office

European Patent Office (Includes searchable bibliographic information for U.S. patents from 1920 to present.)

Esp@cenet, Europe's Network of Patent Databases

Other Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs)

Patent and Trademark Resource Center Association (PTRCA)

    Professional association for PTRC specialists.

Other Web-based Sources

Esp@cenet, Europe's Network of Patent Databases

Freepatentsonline.com

"Currently my favorite non-USPTO patent search site!  Entering the same searches as the USPTO web databases will allow export of results into .xls spreadsheet files for easy sorting and display of inventors, companies, and patent classifications!"

Leina Leilani's collection of U.S. Patent Indexes on HathiTrust

http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/mb?a=listis;c=503653486

Pat2pdf.org

"A great place to acquire US patents in .pdf format!" (requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader).

Subject Specialist & PTRC Representative

David Zielke's picture
David Zielke
Contact:
Room 375, Dixie State University Library
225 South University Ave.
St. George, UT 84770
(435)-652-7716
Subjects:Business