Dixie State University Library
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Health Sciences: Home

Guide to Library and Internet resources for Nursing, Medical Laboratory Science, CNA, EMS/EMT/Paramedic, Medical Radiography, Physical Therapist Assistant, Respiratory Therapist, and Surgical Technology Programs

Current News

National Library of Medicine (NLM) :

  • Archives and Modern Manuscripts Oral History Collections covers a broad range of topics, people, and institutions from throughout the medical and health sciences. Chiefly from the 1960s to the present, and consist of interviews with physicians, scientists, government administrators, medical librarians, and health-business executives. Content is currently organized into 2 collections and includes digitized transcripts, plus any accompanying audio content by title, interviewee name, and subject. Full-text searching is available.
  • Historical Collections covers Books and Journals (books, pre-1914; serials, pre-1871), Archives and Manuscripts (from 11th century-present), Prints & Photographs (social & historical aspects of medicine), Films and Video (history of medicine), and Digital Resources (digitized material from NLM historic collections, covering a spectrum of centures & cultures).

DSC Library Citation Research Guides

There is a Research Guide (Citation Research Guide) designed to help create citations for bibliographies and works-cited pages in reference papers, as well as give guidelines and example of research papers and bibliographies. 

  • Citing Sources
  • Annotating Citations
  • APA and MLA Styles
  • Useful Online Resources
  • Research Paper Helps
  • Annotated samples of formats from the Purdue (University) Owl (lefthand column) for:
    • Research papers
    • Bibliography/Works Cited
  • "Hot topics" examples for research papers

There is a Research Guide for:  Nursing / Dental Hygiene / Allied Health Resources (you are presently here). There are also Research Guides for other subjects, just check the list (left hand column) on the Research Guide main page.

Interlibrary Loan

Use the the Library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) program to request books and articles that are not available at the DSC Library.

To verify whether or not a specific book title you need is owned by the library, search the Online Library Catalog.  

To check the library's full-text periodicals (magazines and journals) holdings, search the Full-Text Periodicals List.  

You are also welcome to contact the library reference desk for searching assistance.

Nursing Librarian

Dianne Aldrich's picture
Dianne Aldrich
Contact:
Holland Centennial Commons, Office 245
435-652-7720
Skype Contact: Dianne3895